Register | Login
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For The Sins of the Fathers by parakletos

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 20 of 188 Previous - 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 - 6 - 7 - 8 - 9 - 10 Next

Tuesday 12th June 2018 21:05


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 55

Epilogue
So overjoyed to see this marvelous story finished! I have been following it from the start and I thank you finishing this brilliant masterpiece! !
  Quote

Monday 5th March 2018 10:23


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 44

Epilogue
What can I say? Except thank you for finishing this unusual take on Harry and Ginny. It has been a long time coming, but well worth the wait. Sorry I haven't reviewed much, I think I did early on, but when I came across this again I just wanted to finish as quickly as possible x
  Quote
Jacynthe
Tuesday 28th February 2017 08:32


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 151

Epilogue
So, I wandered by and see that you have finished this. Well done ! I shall now, of course, have to go back and read it again properly, from beginning to end, and am very much looking forward to it. Thanks !
parakletos
Tuesday 28th February 2017 16:39
Epilogue (Author Response)
So, I wandered by and see that you have finished this. Well done ! I shall now, of course, have to go back and read it again properly, from beginning to end, and am very much looking forward to it. Thanks !


I hope you enjoy rereading it.

  Quote

Tuesday 14th February 2017 08:17


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 526

Epilogue
Nicely different. Not just the same characters and some very original dialogue. Well written. Well done.
parakletos
Tuesday 14th February 2017 08:59
Epilogue (Author Response)
Nicely different. Not just the same characters and some very original dialogue. Well written. Well done.


Thanks!
  Quote

Wednesday 1st February 2017 11:09


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 116

Epilogue
I started to read this story almost 9 years ago and I'm glad to see it finished. Very well written, I enjoyed reading it. You managed to keep the intrigue till the very last words of last chapter. I loved your explanation about Edith, it totally makes sense (not much people would guess it tho).

As my reading of this story was rather fragmentary, I might have missed some points. So for me still some questions remains:

Edith seems to be powerful and she uses stuff instead of wand? She manages to hit Lestrange, she brings in some mysterious magical crystal.

That magical crystal, yes Kreacher knows better, but I only know that it is some kind of MacGuffin. It;s magic? )

Where did Dumbledore disappear to at the final acts of the drama?

What happened to Tonks? Is she down means dead, or injured and incapable of fighting?

Thanks for writing, nice ending. Love seems to be indeed, the greatest power in the end ).
parakletos
Wednesday 1st February 2017 12:25
Epilogue (Author Response)


As my reading of this story was rather fragmentary, I might have missed some points. So for me still some questions remains:

Edith seems to be powerful and she uses stuff instead of wand? She manages to hit Lestrange, she brings in some mysterious magical crystal.

That magical crystal, yes Kreacher knows better, but I only know that it is some kind of MacGuffin. It;s magic? )

Where did Dumbledore disappear to at the final acts of the drama?

What happened to Tonks? Is she down means dead, or injured and incapable of fighting?

Thanks for writing, nice ending. Love seems to be indeed, the greatest power in the end ).



So Edith, well she came prepared. Wizards do the obvious thing, she chose to be inventive and it paid off. I used Kreacher to bring gear to Harry in a fight so it seemed to be appropriate to do the same here. There is more to Edith than meets the eye, but that's another story,

Dumbledore took Ron to safety.

Tonks lives to stumble another day

I always leave a few lose ends and it infuriates some people but thats me.

Thanks for sticking with it, we all got there in the end.
  Quote
embates
Thursday 19th January 2017 19:53


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 5

Epilogue
Very, very well done. Thank you for writing it.
parakletos
Monday 23rd January 2017 09:02
Epilogue (Author Response)
And thank you for reading and reviewing
  Quote

Monday 16th January 2017 20:53


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 14

Epilogue
The final act of an outstanding tale. Thank you for sticking with it, I appreciate everything IRL you had to battle through to finish this and I greatly appreciate it. Your characters were well developed and true to themselves, the plot was baroque, but that was by a central character's design so it all fits. The Edith solution is brilliant, a gordian knot solved logically and well. Finally, it's gratifying to see a Ginny character that isn't a: 1. soul bond 2. fan girl/stalker 3. absolute b**ch 4. destined to fall in love (I think I hit all the tropes), but rather an independent person. Your Harry character should win heart, but not easily and only if she allows it. Once again, thanks for an incredible story.
parakletos
Tuesday 17th January 2017 05:36
Epilogue (Author Response)
And thank you for sticking with it. This was due to be my final act on the fanfic stage, but the ideas keep coming so I may be back.
  Quote

Saturday 14th January 2017 22:10


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 2

Epilogue
I've followed this story from the start but am a hopeless reviewer. Forgive me. I have always loved your stories even when they didn't end how I would have liked! So thank you and I hope to read more of your stories in the future.
parakletos
Sunday 15th January 2017 03:29
Epilogue (Author Response)
I've followed this story from the start but am a hopeless reviewer. Forgive me. I have always loved your stories even when they didn't end how I would have liked! So thank you and I hope to read more of your stories in the future.


Thank you for being one of those who stuck with it after all these years. I'm not sure what the next project is, but if its H&G it will be posted here
  Quote

Saturday 14th January 2017 19:08


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

Epilogue
Would love a future take on this one, probably one of my fav fanfics that I've followed for years!
parakletos
Sunday 15th January 2017 03:27
Epilogue (Author Response)
Would love a future take on this one, probably one of my fav fanfics that I've followed for years!


I don't tend to revisit the universes I've created, but never say never. Thanks for sticking with it.
  Quote

Saturday 14th January 2017 17:17


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 17

Epilogue
Huge thanks for finishing the story, i love all your works in HP fandom! Are you going write more, but just in the different universe?
parakletos
Saturday 14th January 2017 17:22
Epilogue (Author Response)
Huge thanks for finishing the story, i love all your works in HP fandom! Are you going write more, but just in the different universe?


Thanks for sticking with it. I have a lot of ideas for new stories, but can't decide which one to go with. Fandom has changed since I started this story and the better, edgier H&G stuff has become harder to find.

Whatever I write, it will be H&G and it will be posted here.
  Quote

Tuesday 3rd January 2017 03:33


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

Chapter 16
Very curious to learn who Edith really is & how Harry & Ginny and end up together after a long conversation and some yelling.
parakletos
Tuesday 3rd January 2017 05:03
Chapter 16 (Author Response)
Very curious to learn who Edith really is & how Harry & Ginny and end up together after a long conversation and some yelling.


Everyone wants to know who Edith is

Epilogue to come.

Thanks for reading and reviewing.
  Quote

Monday 2nd January 2017 09:58


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 14

Chapter 16
Another extremely well done chapter. The battle scenes were written with the usual excellence -- not too detailed but really capturing the intensity of the battle. I do agree with Edith, that Sirius got way too sloppy with his scheming, almost to the level of super villain complexity for complexity's sake. I'd like to think it's because the character actually developed a conscience and couldn't keep treating people like game pieces, or he just could be getting lazy. I do have to ask if I missed something about the crystals? They seemed to be a bit of a deus ex machina --- nothing wrong with that, a ton of stories use that technique, I was just curious. A couple of other questions: when did the Lestrange - Ginny link occur? Was is when she was captured or earlier and, while I appreciate the cliffhanger, who exactly is Edith? Thanks for a great chapter.
parakletos
Tuesday 3rd January 2017 05:02
Chapter 16 (Author Response)
As usual, a very thoughtful review, thank you.

Essentially, when some one gets over clever, they invariably miss something and Sirius did. He thought he was setting a trap and actually someone else was. The crystals were part of that trap set by someone who realised that wizards rely on magic too much to solve issues and thus can be countered easily.

Part of the reason he got sloppy was that he did change as a character because of his developing relationship with Edith.

Lestrange linked to Ginny earlier.

Who is Edith? I will explain, but not just yet,

Thanks for reading and reviewing,
  Quote

Monday 19th December 2016 23:21


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 17

Chapter 15
Hmm, i bet Bella has something else up her sleeve ! And you are right about Tonks, i never picked on that, but how an she be so clamsy in her own body?
parakletos
Tuesday 20th December 2016 11:50
Chapter 15 (Author Response)
Hmm, i bet Bella has something else up her sleeve ! And you are right about Tonks, i never picked on that, but how an she be so clamsy in her own body?


Bella always has something up her sleeve!

The idea about Tonks is one I heard before, many years ago when I was new in fandom, but it makes sense, to me at least.

Thanks for reading and reviewing
  Quote

Monday 19th December 2016 22:46


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 14

Chapter 15
Christmas came early! Thanks for the chapter. The combat was handled perfectly, the reader knew it was a serious battle, but the story didn't get bogged down in a spell by spell account. Most of the players are now in the open and I'm expecting the battle at the cave will pretty much end the external conflict -- provided Bellatrix's vial is poison, not more polyjuice. It will be interesting to see who survives the battle, who Edith is, and if/how Harry and Ginny re-establish their relationship. As always, an excellent read.
parakletos
Tuesday 20th December 2016 11:54
Chapter 15 (Author Response)
Christmas coming early is down to Sherry as the are all written and beta'd and she is doing the posting. Even I don't know when a new chapter is going to be posted

Glad you liked the combat, group fights are difficult to write and this is one area I've followed the films; the fight happens and no one really speaks the incantation out loud.

Now, why would nice Auntie Bella be carrying poison? WHat has she ever done to warrant such a low opinion of her?

Thanks for reading and reviewing again
  Quote

Saturday 10th December 2016 12:00


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 526

Chapter 14
I think I might be getting a head ache as well.
parakletos
Saturday 10th December 2016 13:15
Chapter 14 (Author Response)
I think I might be getting a head ache as well.


I think there's a few of us.

Thanks for your review
  Quote

Saturday 10th December 2016 12:00


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 526

Chapter 14
I think I might be getting a head ache as well.
  Quote

Friday 9th December 2016 20:46


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 14

Chapter 14
That's an excellent cliff hanger. You answered several questions, the Dean paragraph was nicely done. An interesting question is: which Tonks talks to Harry and Sirius? I'm guessing its the real Tonks, but you have Bellatrix roaming the castle as polyjuice Tonks.... I am very impressed with how you've plotted this all out, you must have a master chart up on a wall somewhere just to keep track of everything. I hope if the Sirius character survives we get a monologue of his plan! I'm excited to see how the big battle/reveal goes and I'm basically a hopeless romantic so, I'm rooting for a happy ending. I know the HEA can be annoying for authors to write, but since they only occur occasionally in real life, it's nice to read them in fiction. Of course, it's your story and regardless of the ending, it is a classic and outstanding.
parakletos
Saturday 10th December 2016 04:04
Chapter 14 (Author Response)
Thanks for your reviews and your PMs. I'm always amazed at the imagination of readers and sometimes think 'why didn't I do it that way?'

The big reveal? Well if you've read stories like 'And on the 8th day' you will remember that not everything is revealed.

I like a HEA, but sometimes they don't fit the plot, so I'm afraid that you will have to wait and see.
  Quote

Friday 9th December 2016 19:16


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 17

Chapter 14
Soo happy that you are updating the story! So will we see Bella making an appearance?
I am glad to see Harry and Ginny together, hopefully that nymphomanic b.. can be pit away forever!

parakletos
Saturday 10th December 2016 04:00
Chapter 14 (Author Response)
Soo happy that you are updating the story! So will we see Bella making an appearance?
I am glad to see Harry and Ginny together, hopefully that nymphomanic b.. can be pit away forever!



Oh yes, Bella will be back, but will H&G be together?

Thanks for reading and reviewing
  Quote

Friday 9th December 2016 14:58


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 37

Chapter 13
I love cliffhangers! And I'm so very glad you've resumed this story. It's such an interesting plot and I've always wondered where you planned to go with it. Thank you for such excellent writing.
  Quote

Friday 9th December 2016 14:51


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 37

Chapter 14
I love cliffhangers! And I'm so very glad you've resumed this story. It's such an interesting plot and I've always wondered where you planned to go with it. Thank you for such excellent writing.
parakletos
Saturday 10th December 2016 03:45
Chapter 14 (Author Response)
I love cliffhangers! And I'm so very glad you've resumed this story. It's such an interesting plot and I've always wondered where you planned to go with it. Thank you for such excellent writing.


Thank you for sticking with it after all these years.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 188 Previous - 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 - 6 - 7 - 8 - 9 - 10 Next
Latest Stories
Friday 13th September
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 14th June
Author: Melindaleo
Story: Some Cuts Leave Scars
Author: angelmorph
Story: A Different Boy Who Lived
Thursday 5th April
Author: Arnel
Story: Escape from Brextwistle Hall
Thursday 4th January
Author: Sherylyn
Story: Hearts Afire
Saturday 14th January
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Friday 9th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: Rufus Scrimgeour’s Annual Christmas Party
Friday 25th November
Author: Author by Night
Story: Full Circle
Saturday 15th October
Author: Author by Night
Story: It Opens
Wednesday 24th August
Author: Sovran
Story: Meaning of One, Part Two: Chambers and Secrets
Author: Author by Night
Story: This is the Life
Wednesday 27th April
Author: Author by Night
Story: I Solemnly Swear That I Am Up to No Good
Monday 7th March
Author: Author by Night
Story: Outside the Bubble
Friday 12th February
Author: parakletos
Story: Tiger Stripes
Wednesday 13th January
Author: Melindaleo
Story: These Cuts I Have
Tuesday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: Beholders
More
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate