Register | Login
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Ginny's Seventh Year at Hogwarts by Grandma Kate

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 20 of 54 Previous - 1 - 2 - 3 Next
Arnel
Tuesday 13th October 2009 07:02


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 676

10:Ginny Finishes Hogwarts and Joins the Holyhead Harpies-June 1999
As a summary chapter, this one knits all the loose ends together very well. It's a nice list of what will happen, Molly's hopes for the future, and the pride she takes in a family well-raised. I have thoroughly enjoyed reading all your stories, watching the children grow up through Molly's eyes and seeing the novels from a different point of view. [that's all I have, although I'd give you more if I had them] for a brilliant end to a brilliant series of stories.

I hope you won't be a stranger to the other authors at Phoenix Song. I, especially, love reading your reviews of my work and hope you will continue to read our stories in our spare time.

Take care,
Arnel
Grandma Kate
Tuesday 13th October 2009 20:08
10:Ginny Finishes Hogwarts and Joins the Holyhead Harpies-June 1999 (Author Response)
Thank you Arnel. I am in awe of authors who invent complicated and interesting plots. I hope to continue to read the high-quality stories here at Phoenix Song.

Thank you for your kindness.
  Quote

Sunday 11th October 2009 21:45


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 179

10:Ginny Finishes Hogwarts and Joins the Holyhead Harpies-June 1999
I've really enjoyed the whole series and your insight into Molly Weasley. I'd say the one niggling detail which annoyed me from this story was your use of YouTube as it wasn't founded until 2005 but other than that it's been a great read
Grandma Kate
Monday 12th October 2009 09:00
10:Ginny Finishes Hogwarts and Joins the Holyhead Harpies-June 1999 (Author Response)
Thank you for your kind review. I made it clear to my flist at Live Journal that I was taking liberties with 'what happened when'. I pointed out to early readers and my beta that I was just following in JKR's footsteps because she allowed the movie to have the death eaters destroy the Millennium Bridge before Harry would have been starting Seventh Year. It wasn't completed for more then two years after that. It seems like we've always had Google and YouTube.
  Quote
Kathryn
Thursday 8th October 2009 18:05


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 51

10:Ginny Finishes Hogwarts and Joins the Holyhead Harpies-June 1999
this is a real achievement Kate and a much of very enjoyable stoiries, each of which have not only got better story to story but also chapter to chapter. You should be very proud of them, enjoy retirement.
Grandma Kate
Saturday 10th October 2009 08:05
10:Ginny Finishes Hogwarts and Joins the Holyhead Harpies-June 1999 (Author Response)
Thank you dear Kathryn. As you know, I hadn't written any fiction since I was a schoolgirl. Therefore, it is a wonder that anyone read The Early Years. I didn't even remember the conventions for including dialogue. It all sounded like it took place during a graduate seminar. Fine for Percy and Hermione, but rather strange for the twins. Gerry was patient with me, even though she had to practically force me into using contractions.

I've enjoyed experiencing your growth, as well. I know you will keep writing. The stories are getting better and better.
  Quote

Wednesday 7th October 2009 15:49


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 508

10:Ginny Finishes Hogwarts and Joins the Holyhead Harpies-June 1999
I hadly know where I,m getting the nerve to write about a fic that I haven,t even read. I tried several times, but found that it belonged to the genre of Molly,s life while her youngest was in school. That said, congratulations on your 79 th. I just turned 77, and do some fic writing now and then, especially when my muse wakes me about 3 a.m., and fills my mind with plot ideas. Maybe I,ll try again and see if I am wrong about this story, as I only read bits now and then. Take care, and stay healthy, bright eyed and bushy tailed. Jeanne T.
Grandma Kate
Wednesday 7th October 2009 16:39
10:Ginny Finishes Hogwarts and Joins the Holyhead Harpies-June 1999 (Author Response)
Thank you for writing Jeanne T. Congratulations on turning 77 and best wishes with your fiction writing. May you muse let you sleep longer this winter, but continue to inspire you. I have a sister your age who takes on-line classes and is always worried about getting her homework done and how she did on the exams. I guess we all find ways to keep busy.

Thank you for the birthday wishes. I will actually celebrate turning 79 around the American Thanksgiving this year. My version of the Harry Potter books from the point of view of Molly Weasley was written with my grandchildren in mind so is too tame for some.

  Quote

Tuesday 6th October 2009 13:05


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 526

10:Ginny Finishes Hogwarts and Joins the Holyhead Harpies-June 1999
I think this is the right time to end this story. It was after all about Ginny at Hogwarts as seen through Molly's eyes. What comes after is a different story.Lot of pleasure in reading it. Thank you.
Grandma Kate
Tuesday 6th October 2009 13:21
10:Ginny Finishes Hogwarts and Joins the Holyhead Harpies-June 1999 (Author Response)
Thank you for your positive comments. I've enjoyed writing from Molly's point of view but I started when Ron was three month old, so eighteen years is long enough.
  Quote

Monday 5th October 2009 05:42


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 134

10:Ginny Finishes Hogwarts and Joins the Holyhead Harpies-June 1999
We'll miss you Grandma Kate, But you deserve a rest. I have to apologise for not reviewing the last few chapters, I actually just read them. I just lost my husband on September 3 rd and have been quite a Busey Beaver here at home. 23 years of mess to go thru here, he saved everything. Anyway, I have to say that I have enjoyed every word written, the way you connected yourself spiritually to Molly and her family was quite amazing. Where you take it from here is anyones guess, I haven't a clue. But one thing I am sure about is that when you do return, the story will be Harry Potter Gold.
Grandma Kate
Monday 5th October 2009 07:39
10:Ginny Finishes Hogwarts and Joins the Holyhead Harpies-June 1999 (Author Response)
I am sorry for your loss. As you may know, my beta went through her husband's sudden illness and death just last year. There are a million details to take care of, at a time when you have no energy. I still remember the months and years after my first husband died more than twenty years ago. My current husband, dear Oatmeal, is going through some health problems so I want to spend more time with him.

Thank you for commenting about my spiritual connection to Molly. I had a busy household with many children who grew into young adults (and are now middle-aged). When my eldest daughter and her husband both returned to school, the moved back in with their two kids, Over the years, the children have returned to stay for months at a time (with their families). The youngest grandboys lived next door to us when they were young, so I've always been busy (besides working outside the home for fifty years).

Thank you for your comments. God bless you as you enter a new phase of life.
  Quote

Saturday 3rd October 2009 15:48


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 133

10:Ginny Finishes Hogwarts and Joins the Holyhead Harpies-June 1999
Thanks for loads of excellent good-night read!
I'm missing your storier already!
Grandma Kate
Sunday 4th October 2009 03:49
10:Ginny Finishes Hogwarts and Joins the Holyhead Harpies-June 1999 (Author Response)
Thank you for reading and reviewing Ocean Dream. It has meant a great deal to me to have your support.
  Quote

Saturday 3rd October 2009 14:12


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 106

10:Ginny Finishes Hogwarts and Joins the Holyhead Harpies-June 1999
How bittersweet that your story arc is now complete. Congratulations to you on a work so very well done. Your spiritual bonding with Molly showed through on every page from "The Early Years" to "Ginny's 7th Year". It has been my privilege to make this journey with you and I hope after a short break to take care of things at home you return to us with something else equally splendid. Thank you for being my friend.
Grandma Kate
Sunday 4th October 2009 03:48
10:Ginny Finishes Hogwarts and Joins the Holyhead Harpies-June 1999 (Author Response)
As I've noted elsewhere, I am the fortunate one. I was a brand-new author when I was assigned to you and have learned so much. Not only that, I have found a good friend. I've enjoyed learning from you and learning more about myself.
  Quote

Saturday 3rd October 2009 13:57


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 133

9:Memories and More - May 1999
I liked the morning scene at the Burrow - Charlie, Percy, Ron and Bill
I loved the ceremony, I think it was one of the most beutiful commemorative ceremonies I´ve ever read in any FF
Hmm, the Memorial seems nice, it´s a pity we can´t get a picture...
And I can´t really believe your story is coming to an end!
Grandma Kate
Friday 9th October 2009 22:32
9:Memories and More - May 1999 (Author Response)
Thank you Ocean Dream, I love writing the Weasley brothers. They have such different personalities.

Once I'd realized that Molly deserved an Order of Merlin, First Class- the rest of the ceremony just fell into place. I thought a memorial grove with benches would a be a peaceful place to remember the fallen.

My friend Kathryn wrote a very different version of Ginny's Sixth Year (Hogwarts Rebellion). She working on Ginny as a professional Quidditch player now. I bet you would enjoy them.
  Quote
Kathryn
Sunday 27th September 2009 22:14


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 51

9:Memories and More - May 1999
I really really enjoyed this chapter - I really think it is the best you have ever written. Althgough I had to admit that I would loved to have seen more Quidditch - but then thats my personal choice.

Enjoy the retirement - I know Gerry is going to after the numbers of words/chapters we have given her this year!
Grandma Kate
Sunday 27th September 2009 23:24
9:Memories and More - May 1999 (Author Response)
Hey Mate! We seem to have a mutual admiration going since I think the final chapter of Hogwarts Rebellion is your finest yet. Have a great holiday and return to England.

I really finished writing about three months ago and have been cleaning closets ever since. I still have boxes of jumbled stuff on the sofa bed in my study.
  Quote

Sunday 27th September 2009 05:14


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 106

9:Memories and More - May 1999
‘Ron and I have to band together to rescue our other blue-eyed brother.’
It must warm Molly's heart to see that her other children have accepted Percy unquestioningly back into the fold but
Molly told them to play nice
she still rules the roost! What a great peek at the future that is just now beginning to unfold. Excellent as usual!
Grandma Kate
Sunday 27th September 2009 08:33
9:Memories and More - May 1999 (Author Response)
Thank you again for all your help. It has been a busy year for you with Kathryn and I writing on the same timeline for quite a while. We have different points of view but pretty much told the same story.

Yes, I love the interaction between Molly and her children. She and Arthur will always be parents but will enjoy being empty nesters.
  Quote

Sunday 27th September 2009 00:01


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 62

9:Memories and More - May 1999
Oh Kate,

How wonderful that Molly was given the honor of receiving a 'Order of Merlin'. So deserved to a woman that tried everything to keep it all together.

I also want to compliment you on the fact that it was NOT Gwenog Jones that signed Ginny because Gwenog is a player and not a CEO at Holyhead Harpies, it always annoys me when people do that.

Just one more chapter to go?
*sighs in depression*

Hugz, C
Grandma Kate
Sunday 27th September 2009 03:19
9:Memories and More - May 1999 (Author Response)
Collinda, you always make me appreciate how carefully you read my versions of the missing moments in the Harry Potter books. How could I not recognize what Molly (and all the other nurturing characters) contributed and continue to contribute to the wizarding world as they fight the forces of evil and rebuild society.

I rather thought that Hermione would be an excellent contract negotiator. I used to be the lead negotiator in collective bargaining of teachers' contracts so I know how almost any contract can be improved to better working conditions and morale.

Yes, it does seem as though I just started my simple story of Molly and Lily's friendship. Now their children are preparing to start their careers and marry, so it is time to stop for a while. I've been cleaning closets since I finished this story a few months ago. It is time to so other needed tasks.
  Quote
Shalli
Friday 18th September 2009 16:40


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 6

2:A Very Active Autumn
Hate to be the bearer of bad news, but back in 1999 Google was still a pretty small and not well known search engine. Yahoo and Altavista were the ones I recall from strongly from then. And Youtube.... that didn't show up until 2005. Good story though!
Grandma Kate
Friday 18th September 2009 22:38
2:A Very Active Autumn (Author Response)
Yes, I was still at Stanford when "the guys" started working on Google so I think I might have been one of the early adopters. Your point is well taken.

My Beta and I discussed the anachronism of the existence of You Tube existing four years early. She suggested that it was invented by wizards and secretly operational earlier than the Muggle version. My excuse is that I caught the same Temporal Disfunction that JKR, herself, suffers from. After all, she let the Millennium Bridge be destroyed in the movie of Half-Blood Prince several years before it was actually completed.

Thanks for commenting.
  Quote

Thursday 17th September 2009 17:15


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 133

8: Oh to be in England, Now that April’s Here-April 1999
Great gifts for Teddy, especially the broom, of course!
And the fountain sounds... magical, as does the Memorial
What? Only 2 more chapters? What about the summer?
Grandma Kate
Thursday 17th September 2009 18:52
8: Oh to be in England, Now that April’s Here-April 1999 (Author Response)
Thanks for being such a faithful reviewer.

My adventures in Harry Potter fan fic writing started as a simple story for my grandsons to tell them where I thought baby Harry was taken for the missing twenty-four hours between hen his parents died and he was left on the Dursley doorstep.

Ginny's last year of home schooling was followed by all seven years of Hogwarts. Now she is off to the Harpies' training camp, so I decided to end the story there. May and June are at the Beta's now.
  Quote

Thursday 17th September 2009 12:57


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 526

8: Oh to be in England, Now that April’s Here-April 1999
I do not know if I am happy or sad that we are nearly at the end. It has been an interesting journey. I hope you have your next "magnum opus" on the drawing board.
Grandma Kate
Thursday 17th September 2009 15:35
8: Oh to be in England, Now that April’s Here-April 1999 (Author Response)
Dad. thank you for sticking with me for the whole time. I've learned more about writing, partly from the comments that you and others have made.

I will continue to read Harry Potter fan fic but think I will take some time off from writing it. Who knows?
  Quote

Wednesday 16th September 2009 19:44


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 106

8: Oh to be in England, Now that April’s Here-April 1999
Mr Ollivander and I have a special bond
Aha! I thought I got a subtle hint in the last chapter but now you've confirmed it--Mr. O and Auntie Muriel are 'an item'!
Grandma Kate
Wednesday 16th September 2009 19:53
8: Oh to be in England, Now that April’s Here-April 1999 (Author Response)
Auntie Muriel is a witch so may have a long happy relationship with Mr Ollivander. I only preach what I practice, marrying for the third time at 67.

You are a dear to review.
  Quote
Kathryn
Sunday 6th September 2009 23:56


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 51

7:March Madness and People Moving-March 1999
Another excellent chapter.

Its good to hear that the Quidditch team are in good shape for the arrival of the scouts.
Grandma Kate
Monday 7th September 2009 08:22
7:March Madness and People Moving-March 1999 (Author Response)
Hey Mate!

If I had the Room of Requirement to practice in, I'd use it. All I have is my Wii and my heated exercise pool.
  Quote

Sunday 6th September 2009 15:45


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 133

7:March Madness and People Moving-March 1999
The soap opera recaps were a bit too much of the information (and names - well, I´m a teacher and it´s the beginning of a new year so names are my boggart right now ) but the rest was sweet!
Molly´s dialogue with Harry was perfect:
Have you eaten yet?

That´s Mother Molly for us!
And thanks for Ginny and Charlie´s letters, they are the part of the story I love most!
Thinking about the things Fred´s gonna miss makes my heart break, imagine what it makes to Molly´s (but I´ve always felt the same for Sirius - and James and Lily - and now Remus and Tonks, as well) That´s the "poof" part of the story...
April next, can´t wait!
Grandma Kate
Sunday 6th September 2009 16:14
7:March Madness and People Moving-March 1999 (Author Response)
Thanks for commenting. The segments about the beginning of Tell-a-Vision have some jokes and allusions to other stories, but I may have gone on too long.

Molly has kept herself busy as a way of not falling apart. The one year anniversary of Fred's death is going to be very hard.
  Quote

Saturday 5th September 2009 14:45


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 62

7:March Madness and People Moving-March 1999
a touch of sadness in the last part of the chapter - Molly remembered all the things Fred will never have the opportunity to see and to live.

Very sensible chapter!

Domain A K A Dome 36
Grandma Kate
Saturday 5th September 2009 17:10
7:March Madness and People Moving-March 1999 (Author Response)
Molly will remember Fred for the rest of her life. And 'what might have been' will always be powerful.

We are getting close to the first anniversary of the Battle. The first year is the hardest.
  Quote

Saturday 5th September 2009 12:56


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 62

7:March Madness and People Moving-March 1999
Dear Kate, I think I never commented on the fact that, even though soap opera's tend to annoy me, you perfectly show the addictive properties of Tell-a-Vision.
I hardly ever watch tv anymore although I used to be a couch patato in my younger years. My addiction starts again in 2 weeks.
I am addicted to 'Strictly Come Dancing' the original British version that is.
*sigh* I couldn't dance if my life depended on it.

Again, I love Molly's emotions in this chapter and the contemplation that she feels. You may seem to live your life and move on but then you hear that one tune or see that one picture and before you know it, you are a bloody, crying, sobbing mess.

Until next time, take care. C
Grandma Kate
Saturday 5th September 2009 17:07
7:March Madness and People Moving-March 1999 (Author Response)
Yes, my homage to Days of Destiny goes overboard at times. The returning of the missing actors and technical workers at WWN was the excuse for getting Molly involved in the world of entertainment. The advice to novice writers is, "Write what you know.' and I knew what TV was like when it started.

Yes Molly will always grieve for Fred. All of the Weasleys will be affected by a smell or the way George's son does something to remind them of him. Again, some real life experience in the matter.

Thanks for reading and reviewing.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 54 Previous - 1 - 2 - 3 Next
Latest Stories
Friday 13th September
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 14th June
Author: Melindaleo
Story: Some Cuts Leave Scars
Author: angelmorph
Story: A Different Boy Who Lived
Thursday 5th April
Author: Arnel
Story: Escape from Brextwistle Hall
Thursday 4th January
Author: Sherylyn
Story: Hearts Afire
Saturday 14th January
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Friday 9th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: Rufus Scrimgeours Annual Christmas Party
Friday 25th November
Author: Author by Night
Story: Full Circle
Saturday 15th October
Author: Author by Night
Story: It Opens
Wednesday 24th August
Author: Sovran
Story: Meaning of One, Part Two: Chambers and Secrets
Author: Author by Night
Story: This is the Life
Wednesday 27th April
Author: Author by Night
Story: I Solemnly Swear That I Am Up to No Good
Monday 7th March
Author: Author by Night
Story: Outside the Bubble
Friday 12th February
Author: parakletos
Story: Tiger Stripes
Wednesday 13th January
Author: Melindaleo
Story: These Cuts I Have
Tuesday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: Beholders
More
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate