Register | Login
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Vis Insita by Caleb Nova

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 20 of 216 Previous - 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 - 6 - 7 - 8 - 9 - 10 - 11 Next

Wednesday 18th December 2019 13:19


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

48: Excerpt
Hi, my name is Nathaniel Mumford from California United States. I am tech blogger and I used to write about the latest technologies like IOT (Internet of things) which are being used in our daily life.
  Quote

Monday 16th September 2019 01:43


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 14

47: 25/12/97
Wow! What an end! As a reader from almost the beginning I have to give my thanks to you for sticking with this story for so long. Seriously, thank you for the countless hours of entertainment.
  Quote

Friday 17th May 2019 16:50


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 16

46: That Terrifying Momentum, Part II
Caleb S. Nova Esq.
Somewhere
Planet Earth


'Sup Caleb,

It's been ages since I read any of your work, and longer since I've commented to you about it. And, despite your somewhat irregular posting schedule, it's my fault. I've had a whole lot of things going on in life the last few years, and well, quite frankly I enjoy creating a bit of a backlog of your work so that I can binge through it all, and well, that backlog increased substantially as life continued to get in the way. I think the last time I'd been caught up was probably February 2017? Which, in retrospect isn't that far back in so far as chapters posted, but it's far enough back that it necessitated a re-read in it's entirety to catch back up.

You mentioned in one of your authors notes at some point that you didn't get as many long form reviews as you'd like, and hypothesized on why that might be - that it might be due to things your readers would comment on being forgotten by the time they went to review, and I find that I quite agree with that. When I did my re-read of TTM, I was reading an .epub version on my iPad and could highlight bits that stuck out to me mostly (read: entirely) consisting of bits that I thought were particularly amusing (Casual Cummerbund will never not be funny to me.) But even that doesn't allow quite the in-depth note taking that is necessary to provide the feedback that you seem to crave. Once I got to Vis, remembering things to comment on was further exacerbated by again, reading on my iPad but from PhoenixSong directly, with no way to record thoughts easily (I mean, aside from writing them down on paper with pen, but that seems so.... luddite.)

Thus I'm left after catching up with a reaffirmed sense of how much I enjoy your work, and for one of the earlier fanfics I'd read, how well in continues to stand up and how I'm perfectly happy to, and enjoy re-reading it. This (I assume) penultimate chapter is incredibly bittersweet, an end of an era if you will. Which, I'll admit is a bit ridiculous to say to you, as it's probably more of an important factor in your life than in mine. Anyway, bittersweet. I mean, TTM and Vis have been a constant (if irregular) in my life for the last almost decade if my first review date is anything to go by, and the quality continues to maintain and increase.

You've mentioned on several occasions your commitment to having your characters continue to be in character to the detriment to basically everything else in the story, which is something that I appreciate so much. Commit to the bit. If you can't remain internally consistent to your story, why should your readers continue to read it? Your job as an author is to make the reader believe. To set the terms from the beginning of what's going to happen, set the stage, tell me how much reality I need to ignore to believe this, and then stay true to that original suspension of belief. Of course Scott is going to do everything possible to save his Primes after the ambush at Privet Drive, and he's going to prioritize Harry. Once he and Hermione are taken, Scott is going to put himself in harms way to protect her, doing anything up to and including revealing his Kharadjai specific abilities.

I can't understate how much I respect and appreciate your commitment to the bit.

And now, specific feedback to things that I remember from the most recent chapters;

I really really like Kylie, hearing things from her perspective is such an amazing way to see her grow from the little slip of a thing we ran into on the boats into Hogwarts, to her panic attack about the cup to having a bit of Champagne when everybody was drinking. I also really liked the interaction between Trevor and Kylie about the flashlight, it was just the fucking sweetest thing and is really great to see that Trevor, as excitable and everything that he is, notices that Kylie isn't as headstrong as he is and that they're still close afterwards.

I had other feedback about other stuff, but seem to have forgotten it in my minirant about Kylie.

I want to thank you again, Caleb, for creating this world and allowing us to enjoy it. I'm sad that it's coming to an end, but all things must end. I hope you will move onto something else after this and I look forward to it with baited breath. I don't know how often you're still checking your reviews on this at this point, but I wanted to take some time and leave some thoughts for you.

I remain, as always
~TomRiddle
  Quote

Sunday 2nd September 2018 17:53


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 526

46: That Terrifying Momentum, Part II
It must be some sort of record, but I have just worked out it is nearly eleven years since I started reading this series. Enjoyed it all. Thanks.
Caleb Nova
Thursday 6th September 2018 18:58
46: That Terrifying Momentum, Part II (Author Response)
Don't remind me. And it's quite done yet, either.
  Quote

Wednesday 29th August 2018 14:37


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 14

46: That Terrifying Momentum, Part II
Wow!! Awesome chapter! Been reading from the start and loved every bit of it! Tank you so much for the hours of entertainment. Is this the last chapter or will there be some aftermath?
Caleb Nova
Thursday 6th September 2018 18:58
46: That Terrifying Momentum, Part II (Author Response)
There will be more to wrap things up.
  Quote

Monday 11th December 2017 17:20


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 152

42: Pounds Per Square Inch
I’m glad about Scott’s vehement opinion on dropping out of school. Someone needed to tell Harry!
Some good discussions in this chapter considering it also had some interesting Horcrux extraction action going on.
I also liked the mostly silent interaction between Ginny and Hermione. “Scottie” the dog... nice name ;-) But what a sad story... I guess he did his master a last service when he went on his last journey... *sniff* (I’m somehow imagining he got destroyed in the process?)
Good chapter, thanks!
Caleb Nova
Sunday 14th January 2018 08:03
42: Pounds Per Square Inch (Author Response)
I’m glad about Scott’s vehement opinion on dropping out of school. Someone needed to tell Harry!


It's a part of Scott's character that I was glad to have a moment to explore.

“Scottie” the dog... nice name ;-)


Coincidental, as the dog from Monopoly is in fact a Scottie dog.

But what a sad story... I guess he did his master a last service when he went on his last journey... *sniff* (I’m somehow imagining he got destroyed in the process?)


There's a line in the following chapter where we see that Harry pockets the dog after the ritual is over, so he still has it, at least for now.
  Quote

Monday 11th December 2017 15:48


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 152

41: Age of Anxiety
About your author’s note: that’s how it works, eh? Point 4, here we go ;-)
I think it would be cool if Harry took up Remus and Tonks on that offer (“Whenever you need us...”). Unfortunately, it will be difficult to do as they don’t know about adult Scott. But I wouldn’t mind some more involvement of the order. That, and lots of action between H&G ;-) Most importantly however, I’m happy for every update, this is one of only two HP fanfics I’m following at the moment. So thanks!
Caleb Nova
Sunday 14th January 2018 07:38
41: Age of Anxiety (Author Response)
Hey, thanks for reviewing. I've been having some serious writer's block lately, but I'm still trying and knowing that anyone is reading really helps.
  Quote

Tuesday 5th December 2017 16:34


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 152

40: Blow Out
Okay, so I listened a bit to that Oasis album to find out what kind of music Hermione liked. But I suppose I’m just not a female British teenager So what music would Scott have played?
Harry’s reaction to alcohol makes a lot of sense, I think.
Caleb Nova
Monday 11th December 2017 09:16
40: Blow Out (Author Response)
Okay, so I listened a bit to that Oasis album to find out what kind of music Hermione liked. But I suppose I’m just not a female British teenager


Ha ha, not a Brit Pop fan, huh? Yeah, me neither. But I figured Hermione would be into Oasis. Most people were in 1997.

So what music would Scott have played?


Pretty much exactly what Sophie said.

Harry’s reaction to alcohol makes a lot of sense, I think.


It's my interpretation of his character. I'm glad you thought it was fitting.
  Quote

Tuesday 5th December 2017 11:14


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 152

39: Wind Down
After all the action of the last chapters, this one was calm and with some humour in between. Good pacing.
Oh, and Scott, the God of Pancakes!
Caleb Nova
Tuesday 5th December 2017 11:46
39: Wind Down (Author Response)
I wanted to have a little down time before kicking into things full speed ahead.
  Quote

Tuesday 5th December 2017 11:13


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 152

38: Wealth of Nations Part III
Close call for Scott!
I like that they seem to have a capable opponent now who understands Muggle tactics and training. It would have been too easy otherwise!
Caleb Nova
Tuesday 5th December 2017 11:45
38: Wealth of Nations Part III (Author Response)
Yes, Scott's Muggle-trained enemy. We'll see more of them later.
  Quote

Tuesday 5th December 2017 11:12


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 152

37: Wealth of Nations Part II
Another great chapter, thanks a lot. The operation was well planned. Good idea to not tell us what the plan was going to be until it actually happened. Several chapters full of action, really entertaining
Caleb Nova
Tuesday 5th December 2017 11:44
37: Wealth of Nations Part II (Author Response)
Scott sketched out the plan, but I did leave a lot of the details out. It was easier to read that way, and I kept some surprises that way too.
  Quote

Tuesday 5th December 2017 11:10


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 152

36: Wealth of Nations Part I
I read the last chapters when they were published but didn’t leave a review. So when I saw that there were two new chapters, I decided to start again with the last chapter I’d left a review for and work my way forward. So here we go...
I really liked this bank robbery operation. It has lots of suspense and is just so different than Rowling’s version. Switching POV’s is also great. I remember how it works out, but it’s still a good read the second time.
About Sophie: I like having another female character around, and she’s a good addition to the team.
Caleb Nova
Tuesday 5th December 2017 11:44
36: Wealth of Nations Part I (Author Response)
There was a lot to juggle for the bank robbery, so it was a writing challenge. Nothing compared to what I'm trying to write now, though! Such is the nature of the climax.
  Quote

Sunday 3rd December 2017 06:07


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 526

44: Psi Omega Warden
I had not checked this site for a while, so it blew my mind to find TWO new chapters. I held my breath all the way through the last one. Brilliant.
Caleb Nova
Tuesday 5th December 2017 11:43
44: Psi Omega Warden (Author Response)
These were actually posted awhile ago. I haven't made much progress recently, due to a combination of writer's block and real life getting in the way. I'm still trying, though, so we'll see.
  Quote

Tuesday 14th November 2017 17:13


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 10

42: Pounds Per Square Inch
So, no more chapters?
Caleb Nova
Sunday 19th November 2017 23:34
42: Pounds Per Square Inch (Author Response)
There's actually two more chapters after this one already up and posted on Fanfiction.net. I think Sherry said PS has been having some server problems, so I'll have to check with her because I'm pretty sure I did send those in.
  Quote

Sunday 26th March 2017 17:49


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 526

41: Age of Anxiety
Re Author's (short) note.
3. Sounds interesting.
4. Read this on SIYE. When you try to review you just get an error page. So count this as a double review.
Caleb Nova
Monday 10th April 2017 23:40
41: Age of Anxiety (Author Response)
Yeah, I guess they were having problems with their server, though everything seems fine now. Thanks for going out of your way to check in, it's always great to see a regular reviewer.
  Quote

Monday 12th December 2016 09:44


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 14

40: Blow Out
Thanks for the progress update glad you're back in the swing of it. Keep em coming at whatever pace you want and I'll keep reading.
Caleb Nova
Tuesday 31st January 2017 18:31
40: Blow Out (Author Response)
Hey, thanks for reviewing! I'm working on it, so hopefully I'll get the next chapter out soon.
  Quote

Saturday 30th April 2016 08:01


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 526

38: Wealth of Nations Part III
Out of breath reading that. An intelligent death eater sounds like an interesting opponent.
Caleb Nova
Monday 18th July 2016 09:33
38: Wealth of Nations Part III (Author Response)
How intelligent he is remains to be seen, but he's at least self-aware, which is more than we can say for pretty much any other Death Eater we know.
  Quote

Saturday 30th April 2016 02:35


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 44

38: Wealth of Nations Part III
Damn! Great written action and thanks for the video suggestions.
Caleb Nova
Monday 18th July 2016 09:33
38: Wealth of Nations Part III (Author Response)
Thanks, and no problem. Sometimes it's nice to have some sounds to put with the words.
  Quote

Sunday 24th April 2016 18:28


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 5

37: Wealth of Nations Part II
Indeed, I love the chance to immerse myself in the universe around a story, not just rattle through a plot. Keep up the good work!
Caleb Nova
Monday 25th April 2016 15:49
37: Wealth of Nations Part II (Author Response)
I think it can be a fine balance between the two, though my own writing style definitely leans more towards character than plot. Not that I don't think plot is important, but I do think it's generally less compelling than world building.

Thanks for reviewing, and I hope to see you again next time.
  Quote

Wednesday 23rd March 2016 01:47


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 37

37: Wealth of Nations Part II
That's exactly why I read fanfiction. To see what other people saw in my favourite characters, whether it's a facet that I saw too, or something new entirely. And to see those characters in new situations. I love that fanfiction isn't plot-driven. It's freer to explore the journey, than simply rushing to the destination. Which is one of the reasons I love your work. It's a fascinating journey that I almost wish never ended!
Caleb Nova
Saturday 26th March 2016 04:36
37: Wealth of Nations Part II (Author Response)
Yeah, the free-form nature of fanfiction can sometimes be its best facet. It can also be its worst, depending, allowing authors to stretch a small idea into several hundred thousand words of angst-porn. So it all depends.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 216 Previous - 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 - 6 - 7 - 8 - 9 - 10 - 11 Next
Latest Stories
Friday 13th September
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 14th June
Author: Melindaleo
Story: Some Cuts Leave Scars
Author: angelmorph
Story: A Different Boy Who Lived
Thursday 5th April
Author: Arnel
Story: Escape from Brextwistle Hall
Thursday 4th January
Author: Sherylyn
Story: Hearts Afire
Saturday 14th January
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Friday 9th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: Rufus Scrimgeours Annual Christmas Party
Friday 25th November
Author: Author by Night
Story: Full Circle
Saturday 15th October
Author: Author by Night
Story: It Opens
Wednesday 24th August
Author: Sovran
Story: Meaning of One, Part Two: Chambers and Secrets
Author: Author by Night
Story: This is the Life
Wednesday 27th April
Author: Author by Night
Story: I Solemnly Swear That I Am Up to No Good
Monday 7th March
Author: Author by Night
Story: Outside the Bubble
Friday 12th February
Author: parakletos
Story: Tiger Stripes
Wednesday 13th January
Author: Melindaleo
Story: These Cuts I Have
Tuesday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: Beholders
More
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate