Register | Login
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Spectators by Author by Night

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 20 of 29 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
Arnel
Thursday 8th October 2015 03:22


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 676

16: What Would Come Would Come
I have thoroughly enjoyed this collection of vignettes. You've let us get to know the more minor characters who have the supporting roles in a way that doesn't detract from the original story.

In this particular chapter, you've let us be angry at Percy's stupidly blind following of the Ministry's hard line of thinking, happy at Fleur hooking up with Bill and sad at Charlie's departure for Romania. While there is hope firmly attached to two of the stories, the third portends the dark days of Order of the Phoenix. I'm glad that Charlie made the decision to leave with a happy memory because he just might need it in the coming months.

Well done.
Author by Night
Thursday 8th October 2015 10:45
16: What Would Come Would Come (Author Response)
Thank you!

I think Charlie needed a happy memory.
  Quote

Wednesday 7th October 2015 23:42


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 146

16: What Would Come Would Come
really enjoyed this story.
Author by Night
Thursday 8th October 2015 10:45
16: What Would Come Would Come (Author Response)
Thanks!
  Quote
Melindaleo
Wednesday 7th October 2015 23:10


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 466

16: What Would Come Would Come
Nicely done. I really liked the scene between Percy and Bill, and Percy's realization that he would lose Penelope, too. And yet he stuck to his path. The division amongst the Jones' family, as well, rang very true. The Weasleys couldn't have been the only family that became divided over all this. I really loved Bill calling Percy out for referring to Harry as "the boy." So Durleyish. Made me want to kick him!
Author by Night
Thursday 8th October 2015 10:49
16: What Would Come Would Come (Author Response)
Thank you!

I knew you'd react to the way Percy was talking about Harry. I didn't think of it as being Dursleyish, but you're absolutely right.

I'm glad that the division of the Jones family rang true, particularly as they're not exactly canon. I wasn't actually sure how well that would fit.

  Quote
Arnel
Wednesday 7th October 2015 16:11


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 676

15: What the Ministry Doesn't Want You to Know
You write a very good Umbridge and I hear her words delivered by Imelda Staunton's cadences. Between the two, I wanted to throw something at my monitor!

My heart goes out to Megan and the other Hufflepuffs who are facing a Minister for Magic who is in denial and classmates who just might follow their parents into Voldemort's service. I also feel sorry for Viktor Krum because it seems he is having trouble coping with his role in Voldemort's return.

You get for making me comment on Umbridge first!
Author by Night
Thursday 8th October 2015 10:40
15: What the Ministry Doesn't Want You to Know (Author Response)
Thank you! I'm glad it sounded like a feasible Umbridge.

Yeah, the Hufflepuffs really got the short stick here. My poor house. (Because I'm definitely a Hufflepuff.)
  Quote
Melindaleo
Saturday 3rd October 2015 23:06


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 466

14: Old Crowd, New Crowd
Equal shades of strength and desperation. That about sums up Molly perfectly Nicely done.
Author by Night
Sunday 4th October 2015 01:56
14: Old Crowd, New Crowd (Author Response)
Thanks! I love Molly.
  Quote
Melindaleo
Saturday 3rd October 2015 23:03


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 466

13: Fog
This was a powerful, emotional chapter, and I thought you did a great job with it. I loved that Remus commented on teaching Cedric, and Bill offering Charlie the broom. I'm still desperately looking for tidbits from the other characters on their thoughts about Harry during all this. I so wanted to hug him at the end of this book.
Author by Night
Sunday 4th October 2015 00:44
13: Fog (Author Response)
Thanks for the review!

You'll get some tidbits on the other characters in the last two installments.

I felt sorry for Harry in the book, too. Especially when you re-read OoTP and realize how much all this has really hurt him.
  Quote
Arnel
Tuesday 29th September 2015 21:18


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 676

14: Old Crowd, New Crowd
Again, this is a nice study on people's emotions and the turmoil of their thoughts. Well done.
Author by Night
Tuesday 29th September 2015 22:08
14: Old Crowd, New Crowd (Author Response)
Thank you!
  Quote
Arnel
Tuesday 29th September 2015 20:57


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 676

13: Fog
I didn't need a tissue for this one, but I came close. You've done a marvelous job of conveying everyone's reactions to Cedric's death; I actually reached for that tissue while reading Helga's section. Well done.
Author by Night
Tuesday 29th September 2015 21:58
13: Fog (Author Response)
Thank you!
  Quote
Arnel
Tuesday 22nd September 2015 08:24


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 676

12: The Maze
Oh, so sad! I've always wondered why Cedric agreed to the compromise of taking the Cup with Harry and you've given some very good logic for why he did. The rest of the crowd's reaction to Harry bringing his body back just makes the scene all the more poignant from points of view other than just Harry's upset and frightened one. I didn't need tissues, but I came close. Well done.
Author by Night
Tuesday 22nd September 2015 11:49
12: The Maze (Author Response)
Thank you!
  Quote
Arnel
Tuesday 22nd September 2015 08:16


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 676

11: Preparations and Diversions
It was nice to get a glimpse of the goings-on in the Hufflepuff common room before the third task, especially Megan's perception of Cedric. Her jealousy of Cho made me smile.

Poor Remus. It must be awkward for him to be back at the castle and not really have an official position or reason for being there, except to please his father. It seems to me that had he really wanted to share the day with Harry he could have, even if Bill and Mrs. Weasley were keeping Harry company. I think they would have welcomed him into their group.

As for Tonks and Fleur, they both made me smile. Fleur seems to be impressed with Bill because he isn't like other men in that he didn't react to her being part Veela. To a young woman, things like that make a big impression. It's interesting that Tonks was at the castle as part of Dumbledore's Order detail, even though we won't meet her officially until the next book. It makes me wonder why she only talked to Sirius and not to Remus.

All in all, an enjoyable chapter that starts building towards the book's climax. Well done.
Author by Night
Tuesday 22nd September 2015 12:02
11: Preparations and Diversions (Author Response)
Thank you!

Yes, Remus I think Remus would have been welcome, and it's a pity he didn't join. It always bothered me, actually, that he never showed up in GoF! Or that he didn't write, at the very least. "Dear Harry: Stay careful. Lupin." Alas.
  Quote
Arnel
Wednesday 16th September 2015 14:22


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 676

10: Madness
Since I've read each of the books nine times, I do know that it was Crouch Jr. who was Polyjuiced as Moody. To make myself a bit clearer, I thought it suspect that Moody was trying to get more information from Remus than he was willing to give out. That made me wonder if Tonks felt the same way about her interview with Moody (that the man was asking questions he shouldn't.) Well done... you've made me think about your story a little more than I normally think about fan fiction stories.
Author by Night
Wednesday 16th September 2015 23:07
10: Madness (Author Response)
I thought so, since I know you've been in the fandom for so long (which I'd think would involve *some* re-reading) - but it's also an earlier book, so I thought I would double check!

And thank you.
  Quote
Arnel
Wednesday 16th September 2015 10:24


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 676

10: Madness
Oh dear, something's very fishy about how Professor Moody was trying to get information out of Remus during their visit. It makes me wonder what Tonks' conversation with Moody was like. As it is, I don't think her conversation with Alice and Frank went all that well, either. Frank certainly remembers something to have reacted that way, so that's something. I just wish he'd been able to control his actions just a bit longer in order to give Tonks the clues she sought. I had to smile at her concluding thoughts about Agatha Christie. Well done.
Author by Night
Wednesday 16th September 2015 12:48
10: Madness (Author Response)
Thanks!

(You remember in the book that Crouch Jr. was posing as Moody, right? Couldn't tell if you meant it was fishy on Remus's end or if you found it fishy.)

  Quote
Arnel
Wednesday 16th September 2015 10:04


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 676

9: Unforgivable
Since we don't really know much about Andromeda and Narcissa's relationship as adults, this conversation is quite believable. I imagine that in Andromeda's case it's a case of knowing your enemies better than your sisters, especially when those enemies are her sisters. This is a nice bit of foreshadowing of things to come from the other side of the story. Well done.
Author by Night
Wednesday 16th September 2015 23:18
9: Unforgivable (Author Response)
Thanks!

  Quote
Melindaleo
Wednesday 9th September 2015 10:19


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 466

7: Enough Book Reading
I really enjoyed this. It was nice to see some bonding. Fleur invites Viktor to her wedding, so there must have been some. I felt bad that Harry was left out, but this was enjoyable.

One thing that always intrigued me about GoF was when Cedric came back to get Harry for the family visit. I wondered if he did that on his own or someone sent him. I wonder if the other candidates had any idea how left out he was feeling.

I don't know if you're going to cover that, but it makes me curios. Good job!
Author by Night
Wednesday 9th September 2015 12:13
7: Enough Book Reading (Author Response)
Thanks for review! I always liked the idea of Fleur and Viktor being friends.

I actually hadn't even thought of covering Cedric getting Harry, though it's definitely something I noticed! I am covering the family visit, though.
  Quote
Arnel
Wednesday 9th September 2015 02:35


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 676

8: What You'll Sorely Miss
I'm finally beginning to understand the relationship between Fleur and Gabrielle. I was never that close to my sister growing up--she's just too independent--so I've always thought Fleur was being ridiculously silly in her concern over Gabrielle's fate during the second task.

The fact that Bill takes on the role of the eldest brother and needs to know where his siblings are and what's going on with them seems like a huge burden. However, Bill seems to have taken to it naturally. It's nice to know that he's the one to run after a wayward brother or sister and is the one there in the middle of the night to give the comforting hug and hand out handkerchiefs. You're rounding out his personality quite nicely and I'm enjoying the glimpse into his psyche immensely.
Author by Night
Wednesday 9th September 2015 09:33
8: What You'll Sorely Miss (Author Response)
Thanks for the review! I'm glad you're enjoying the glimpse into Bill's psyche.
  Quote
Arnel
Wednesday 9th September 2015 02:18


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 676

7: Enough Book Reading
What a great team-building exercise! Yes, they're competing against each other, but in the end, it's the friendships that will come out of shared experiences that count the most. Well done.
  Quote
Melindaleo
Wednesday 2nd September 2015 22:56


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 466

5: Yule
Hmm, perhaps Cedric wasn't quite as taken with Cho as she was with him. Then again, maybe he's just a really nice guy. What year is Megan in?

I wish the chapters were a little longer to get into some of the more meaty stuff, but I'm looking forward to the Second Task.
Author by Night
Wednesday 2nd September 2015 23:22
5: Yule (Author Response)
Megan's in Harry's year.

Cedric's actually very taken with Cho! But he's also very much about being protective of his fellow housemates. All of them are, really, but Cedric especially.

I'm actually glad you mentioned that the chapters could be meatier. I'll keep that in mind as I edit further. Thanks.
  Quote
Arnel
Tuesday 1st September 2015 22:18


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 676

6: All Creatures Great and Small
You've very skillfully touched on a rather sticky subject in this chapter and have done it justice, I think. Your backstories for some of my favorite characters are quite interesting and true to canon and while one will still wonder exactly what JKR wanted their backgrounds to be, your are quite believable. Well done.
Author by Night
Tuesday 1st September 2015 23:28
6: All Creatures Great and Small (Author Response)
Thank you!
  Quote
Arnel
Tuesday 1st September 2015 21:47


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 676

5: Yule
Of the four vignettes, the ones with Megan and Cedric spoke to me best. That Cedric would be so kind to her, someone three years younger than he is, shows why the Goblet chose him as Champion; he has all the qualities of Gryffindor and Hufflepuff rolled into one, making him someone worthy of the title. At seventeen, I'm not sure how many boys would make sure a younger housemate had a good end to the ball. Well done.
Author by Night
Tuesday 1st September 2015 23:27
5: Yule (Author Response)
Thank you! I was actually concerned Megan's sections might come across as trite, so I'm very glad they worked.
  Quote

Tuesday 1st September 2015 21:09


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 526

6: All Creatures Great and Small
Good start and you have dealt with some history. I will be interested to see what you will do with some original Harry Potter time line.
Author by Night
Tuesday 1st September 2015 23:28
6: All Creatures Great and Small (Author Response)
Thanks.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 29 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
Latest Stories
Friday 13th September
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 14th June
Author: Melindaleo
Story: Some Cuts Leave Scars
Author: angelmorph
Story: A Different Boy Who Lived
Thursday 5th April
Author: Arnel
Story: Escape from Brextwistle Hall
Thursday 4th January
Author: Sherylyn
Story: Hearts Afire
Saturday 14th January
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Friday 9th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: Rufus Scrimgeourís Annual Christmas Party
Friday 25th November
Author: Author by Night
Story: Full Circle
Saturday 15th October
Author: Author by Night
Story: It Opens
Wednesday 24th August
Author: Sovran
Story: Meaning of One, Part Two: Chambers and Secrets
Author: Author by Night
Story: This is the Life
Wednesday 27th April
Author: Author by Night
Story: I Solemnly Swear That I Am Up to No Good
Monday 7th March
Author: Author by Night
Story: Outside the Bubble
Friday 12th February
Author: parakletos
Story: Tiger Stripes
Wednesday 13th January
Author: Melindaleo
Story: These Cuts I Have
Tuesday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: Beholders
More
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate