Register | Login
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Beholders by Author by Night

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 18 of 18
Arnel
Tuesday 15th December 2015 21:29


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 676

10: Kingsley Revisited
This is the first real look at Kingsley's frame of mind right after the war that I've read and it's making me rethink my opinions of him. Throughout the books, he's just another faceless adult who walks in and out of Harry's life as the sort of background character one needs to sustain the action. Here, you've made him very real with friends and opinions and cares. I think my favorite part of this chapter is when he enumerates the duties of being Minister just to realize that those things aren't enough, that in order to not become like Fudge or Scrimgeour, he still has to be the person he was before he was given the honor of the office. I'm giving this chapter for a chapter well written.
  Quote
Hank
Wednesday 9th December 2015 06:15


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 195

9: Hestia
Really nice chapter! I love how you've brought to life all of the characters in a most believable and lovable manner. The sadness and hope that weaves through the story is a perfect balance. And Remus and Tonks are just too cute as parents!
Author by Night
Wednesday 9th December 2015 06:30
9: Hestia (Author Response)
Thanks! So glad to know there's hope too - that's exactly what I was aiming for.

  Quote
Arnel
Tuesday 8th December 2015 15:14


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 676

9: Hestia
Dudley probably did know the real meaning of what Hestia said to his dad. I wouldn't put it past that boy to know how to swear in several different languages.

If Harry could be godfather, why can't Hestia be godmother rather than Auntie Hestia to Tonks and Remus' baby? That's probably a stupid question, but coming from a family and religion that doesn't employ godparents, it might not be. Anyway, I'm glad Hestia is pleased with Tonks' request for her to be Auntie Hestia after the baby comes.

The fact that Teddy is a Metamorphmagus certainly has to have been a big relief to Remus who was so worried he'd pass on his lycanthropy and to have the baby cycling through hair colors so soon after birth just made me grin.

All in all, this chapter gets for the friendship and caring Hestia has for the people who inhabit their quiet little corner of the world.
Author by Night
Tuesday 8th December 2015 21:47
9: Hestia (Author Response)
Thank you!

Re: Hestia not being the godmother, I was following canon's lead there, or I think I was. At some point JKR implied Harry didn't have a Godmother because Sirius never married, which makes me think they generally go by couples or just a single person in the wizarding world.

  Quote
Arnel
Sunday 6th December 2015 12:46


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 676

8: Ron
I was wondering when we'd get to Ron and now that we have, I'm definitely pleased with his chapter. Not many fan fic writers have tackled the time between Ron's temper tantrum and his reappearance just in time to save Harry, so I was pleased when you took the time to make a big deal out of his time at Bill's. I love his talk with Remus because not only does it help Ron to see what he's done to his friends, it helps Remus redeem himself a little for leaving Tonks. In a way, the latter is just as important in helping Ron do what is right in the end as it is for Remus' self-esteem. I enjoyed the chapter enough to give it . Well done.
Author by Night
Sunday 6th December 2015 21:52
8: Ron (Author Response)
Thank you!
  Quote
Hank
Tuesday 1st December 2015 23:38


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 195

8: Ron
Nicely done. You really managed to capture Ron in this chapter. I like it a lot. I also like how Remus and Bill both help Ron in their own way.
Author by Night
Wednesday 2nd December 2015 13:10
8: Ron (Author Response)
Thank you! I don't write Ron often so I wasn't sure how it would go.
  Quote
Author by Night
Tuesday 24th November 2015 22:13


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 29

7: Ted
Thanks!

Yeah, Ted thinks he was doing the right thing by giving them one last night of peace, but it doesn't quite work like that.

The next chapter has a happier ending.
Author by Night
Tuesday 24th November 2015 22:14
7: Ted (Author Response)
... and that was meant for Arnel.
  Quote
Arnel
Tuesday 24th November 2015 21:50


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 676

7: Ted
This one mad me really sad, especially Ted's analogy of Remus as Marius and Tonks as Cosette and by proxy, Ted as Jean Valjean. I'm glad he had a few minutes with Remus to clear the air over his feelings towards him marrying his daughter. At least now Remus knows that it wasn't his condition that worried Ted, but the conditions under which Remus and Tonks married. It's sad, though, that Andromeda's last memory of her husband won't be of the love-making they did on their last night together but of waking up after that profession of love to an empty, cold bed and a note on the kitchen table. I'm still giving this chapter because there is some happiness and hope, however slim, that by leaving, Ted will be able to protect his family. Well done.
Author by Night
Tuesday 24th November 2015 22:16
7: Ted (Author Response)
Thanks!

Yeah, Ted thinks he was doing the right thing by giving them one last night of peace, but it doesn't quite work like that.

The next chapter has a somewhat happier ending.
  Quote
Arnel
Wednesday 18th November 2015 04:48


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 676

6: Bill
I've always liked Bill Weasley and his many interpretations in canon and in fan fiction and your Bill is up there with the best of them. Responsible, caring and willing to what's right over what is easy, your Bill seems to know when to lead and when to follow orders. He's the sort of man I hope my own son will grow up to be in a few short years.

What I like most about this chapter is the end when Bill realizes that what he's given to other people is being returned in spades, not just for himself but for Remus and Tonks, too.
Author by Night
Wednesday 18th November 2015 22:56
6: Bill (Author Response)
Thank you!

I'm glad Bill came across that way. I've had fun writing him.

  Quote
Hank
Wednesday 18th November 2015 02:17


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 195

6: Bill
Too funny about Tonks and Remus! Very well-written. I enjoy how you've developed the story around the canon.
Author by Night
Wednesday 18th November 2015 22:55
6: Bill (Author Response)
Thank you!
  Quote
Arnel
Tuesday 17th November 2015 22:44


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 676

5: Fleur
My esteem for Fleur just went up a whole lot. It's hard to picture this exotic character as anything but shallow because JKR has the other characters talk about her as if she is. Only Harry defends her because he knew she wouldn't have survived the Triwizard Tournament if she wasn't intelligent, resourceful and brave. I think that's what Bill sees in her too.

Here you show us that Fleur can be just like an ordinary human, a person concerned for another woman. She's willing to work at making sure Tonks doesn't become a stranger, wallowing in either self-pity or depression over something she wants to have change, but can only do so much about. I'm glad Fleur reminded Tonks that a laugh will lift your spirits enough to face the next day.

Fleur's talk with Remus was quite candid, something he needed to hear. Whether he acts on what they talked about is another thing; at least Fleur tried.

Well done.
Author by Night
Tuesday 17th November 2015 23:09
5: Fleur (Author Response)
Thank you! Yes, I think Fleur has certain candor that makes her seem more shallow than she really is. I enjoyed writing her this way, and showing her with another female character in a positive light, which we don't really see in the books except when she makes up with Molly. And of course, as you said, sometimes people actually *need* to hear those things. Like Remus.



  Quote
Hank
Tuesday 10th November 2015 23:17


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 195

5: Fleur
Excellent chapter! I like how you are developing Fleur's character. Very well done.
Author by Night
Wednesday 11th November 2015 01:56
5: Fleur (Author Response)
Thanks!

  Quote

Friday 6th November 2015 13:40


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 201

4: Andromeda
Thanks for the update. Cheered me up big time. Excellent job...
  Quote

Friday 30th October 2015 20:12


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 201

3: Kingsley
Excellent. Thoroughly enjoyed being part of the Order. My heart is racing.
Author by Night
Sunday 1st November 2015 10:35
3: Kingsley (Author Response)
Thank you for reviewing!
  Quote

Wednesday 28th October 2015 03:43


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 526

3: Kingsley
Good stuff.
Author by Night
Wednesday 28th October 2015 12:12
3: Kingsley (Author Response)
Thanks!
  Quote
Hank
Wednesday 28th October 2015 00:30


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 195

3: Kingsley
Very nicely done!
Author by Night
Wednesday 28th October 2015 12:12
3: Kingsley (Author Response)
Thank you - glad that you enjoyed it!
  Quote
Arnel
Tuesday 27th October 2015 14:02


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 676

3: Kingsley
I love the quote at the end, mostly because everyone keeps telling Harry that whatever troubles befall him, it's not his fault that other people made the decisions they did. As kind-hearted as Kingsley is, I can certainly see him falling into depression after the Ministry battle. However, it was Sirius' desire to do something other than stay at Grimmauld Place that hastened his death.

You give the reader a unique glimpse into what it might have been like to have been one of the adult characters who made up the Order. Somehow, when reading canon, one forgets the essential roles these people play in Harry's story. It's nice to get to know them and learn the reasons they have become part of the resistance against Voldemort's reign of terror. Nicely done.
Author by Night
Tuesday 27th October 2015 21:40
3: Kingsley (Author Response)
Thanks!

Yes, Sirius was ultimately the one who made those choices. And course, while Sirius was absolutely determined to save Harry, he also had a sense of invincibility, something neither Kingsley nor Harry could help. But it's so easy to blame yourself regardless.

I love writing about the Order. I do wish we'd seen more of them in canon.
  Quote
Arnel
Tuesday 20th October 2015 15:29


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 676

2: Lyall
Yeah, Tonks to the rescue! This little family "discussion" could have been so much worse, played on so many years of pity and guilt, but she just somehow knew what to say to finally get the annoying couple to leave. I sincerely hope the rest of the day was better for Lyall, Remus and Tonks. Well done.
Author by Night
Wednesday 21st October 2015 20:30
2: Lyall (Author Response)
Thanks for the review!

  Quote
Arnel
Wednesday 14th October 2015 03:19


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 676

1: Sirius
Oh, very cute! Matchmaking to take care of some of Sirius' boredom and Remus' loneliness. I love it. Molly's comment about meddling put the icing on the cake as it were. Well done.
Author by Night
Wednesday 14th October 2015 04:06
1: Sirius (Author Response)
Thanks for the review!

  Quote
Showing 1 to 18 of 18
Latest Stories
Friday 13th September
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 14th June
Author: Melindaleo
Story: Some Cuts Leave Scars
Author: angelmorph
Story: A Different Boy Who Lived
Thursday 5th April
Author: Arnel
Story: Escape from Brextwistle Hall
Thursday 4th January
Author: Sherylyn
Story: Hearts Afire
Saturday 14th January
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Friday 9th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: Rufus Scrimgeour’s Annual Christmas Party
Friday 25th November
Author: Author by Night
Story: Full Circle
Saturday 15th October
Author: Author by Night
Story: It Opens
Wednesday 24th August
Author: Sovran
Story: Meaning of One, Part Two: Chambers and Secrets
Author: Author by Night
Story: This is the Life
Wednesday 27th April
Author: Author by Night
Story: I Solemnly Swear That I Am Up to No Good
Monday 7th March
Author: Author by Night
Story: Outside the Bubble
Friday 12th February
Author: parakletos
Story: Tiger Stripes
Wednesday 13th January
Author: Melindaleo
Story: These Cuts I Have
Tuesday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: Beholders
More
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate