Register | Login
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Some Cuts Leave Scars by Melindaleo

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 20 of 64 Previous - 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 Next

Monday 6th August 2018 12:09


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

24: Here Be Dragons

Great story sequel??
  Quote

Saturday 4th August 2018 23:51


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

22: Memorial

great chapter
  Quote
Jacynthe
Wednesday 1st August 2018 11:04


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 151

8: Witches and Bitches
The girls' conversation in the Room of Requirement had me laughing out loud.

Things Jo R. never thought to tell us ...

Go you !
  Quote

Tuesday 31st July 2018 23:21


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

15: Catching Up and Moving On
  Quote

Monday 30th July 2018 10:23


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

24: Here Be Dragons

Great story
  Quote

Wednesday 4th July 2018 01:22


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 3

24: Here Be Dragons
Melindaleo - I found this story late one night this past January and have enjoyed it immensely from the start. So much so that after the first chapter I decided I'd better read These Cuts I Have before I proceeded with this one.

I found your characterization spot on - I found myself completely lost in the world you created. Thank you for writing and finishing these stories! I'm very sad to see them end. I selfishly hope you write another story soon.

I really appreciate you sharing your talent with all of us. Take care and now I'm off to read more of your stories - I'm so glad I found you talented author!
  Quote

Monday 25th June 2018 03:44


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 526

24: Here Be Dragons
Just to say I read this site as well, so you get twice the exposure. Good story.
  Quote

Saturday 16th June 2018 18:13


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 8

24: Here Be Dragons
I have been thoroughly enjoying your stories for all the years you've been writing them and I am especially in love with your post DH fics. They almost feel exactly like JK Rowling wrote them. Do you know yet if you will keep going with this timeline in other stories? When H/G marry, and also R/H? When the kids are born? Just mildly curious about all of that. Thank you so much for all the wonderful times us readers get to spend with these wonderful characters.
Melindaleo
Wednesday 20th June 2018 10:56
24: Here Be Dragons (Author Response)
Thanks! I'm not sure what's in store next. Usually, my stories all come from wanting to read something and being unable to find a solution I find fits, lol. I'm not a huge NextGen fan, so I don't think I'll go there, but there might be a few shorter stories in this same timeline.
  Quote
Antosha
Friday 15th June 2018 12:46


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 101

24: Here Be Dragons
Wonderful. Yes, I would have loved for you to give us a little more time after the attack — but altogether a satisfying story arc.
Melindaleo
Wednesday 20th June 2018 10:55
24: Here Be Dragons (Author Response)
Thanks! I wish I'd drawn it out a bit longer too now that it's over, but at the time, I was ready for it to be finished.
  Quote
Antosha
Friday 15th June 2018 12:46


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 101

24: Here Be Dragons
Wonderful. Yes, I would have loved for you to give us a little more time after the attack — but altogether a satisfying story arc.
  Quote

Thursday 14th June 2018 23:30


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 66

24: Here Be Dragons
What a fantastic ending! Liberty was a smashing inclusion in both of her scenes.

That last fight scene was particularly riveting — a great illustration of the kind of enormously good and enormously bad luck which seems to be Harry's heritage.

A part of me was viciously gleeful about how ignorant Dolohov was about how that ritual worked.

Thank you again for your hard work, and for spending so much of your time and energy on this series. I love it!
Melindaleo
Wednesday 20th June 2018 10:54
24: Here Be Dragons (Author Response)
Thanks very much! I was listening to GoF on audio, and Voldemort really scolded all the DEs for not coming to his aid the first time. That made me think that some of them would have to feel compelled to try after bumbling it. Anyway, that's where the idea came from.
  Quote

Sunday 10th June 2018 00:36


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 66

23: Schemers and Dreamers
That was wonderful as always! But if Harry doesn't improve his number of injuries per year, he's going to look like Mad-eye before he hits 20! Also, I'm voting for Dawlish as the leak. I despise him and can't fathom how he managed to keep his job as an auror when he's obviously been corrupt since his first canon appearance.
  Quote
Arnel
Thursday 7th June 2018 21:47


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 676

23: Schemers and Dreamers
Ah, the bitter-sweet chapter, the swan song chapter. It makes me sad that there's only one more chapter left. I've enjoyed the final version of this story immensely from Harry getting back to regular cases to Hermione telling Brynne off on the train. I really like Ginny's observation that the second years had begun to relax a little by the end of the summer term, even if they still have a long way to go to heal from their horrendous first year under the Carrows.

One last thought... I'm glad Ginny is letting her mum have her delusion that Ginny will live at The Burrow for a few days between her summer adventures. As the mother of a seventeen-year-old, I completely identify with Molly's need to still have her child in the nest until the very last minute. The coming year is going to be far too short for me, I think...

Well done!
  Quote

Sunday 3rd June 2018 00:39


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 66

22: Memorial
This was a beautiful chapter. It also struck me that it could've worked as a stand-alone, as you've stayed so true to our favorite fictional friends and family and their canon depictions. You've taken them on your own journey to get here from your very first chapter in this series, but both the journey as a whole, and your work on this chapter, click right into canon, like building a Lego house, lol.

Your discussion about Crabbe was very thought-provoking and felt very apt as a tiny encapsulation of how I would imagine all of them feeling a year after the war. Ron's maturity was particularly evident in his reactions.

Harry's immediate and sustained reaction to the memorial also felt dead-on, as did Ginny's comfort and reaction to his "soppines." It wasn't how I would've reacted to such a statement, which was precisely the point. It illustrated what a good fit she is for Harry's specific needs. I get annoyed sometimes by those who feel that pairing Ginny & Harry is a bit too convenient, as if he would have married any daughter of the Weasleys, just so that he could join their family. That conversation at Dobby's grave reminded me of all the reasons why Harry's love of Ginny is so clearly a response to her specific character traits, quirks, humor, and positive attributes.

Mr. Weasley's remark about Muggle births was just perfect and so out of left field, it had me grinning. I also noticed the great work of you and/or your betas in your reference to births "in hospital" vs. "in a hospital." I had to mention that as it reminded me of one thing I've long loved about your writing and your betas' work: You get such details right!

My eldest just recently graduated from college, so I share your melancholy strains in the midst of celebration. I'll never fully see my son as anything other than the hurricane of mischief and giggles that he was at age 5, too. It doesn't feel long at all since they had that red-faced, squashed look of a newborn, si?

Now don't worry about replying, please! Focus your time on your amazing son and y'all's lovely period of celebration, please. ☺
Melindaleo
Tuesday 5th June 2018 08:08
22: Memorial (Author Response)
Thank you! This chapter represents something I've been avoiding writing since DH, lol. Every story has either funerals or a memorial or an after-Battle speech. I've skirted around it for two full stories now, but I thought at the one year point, I just had to suck it up and do it!! I'm right with you on getting frustrated with people who criticize Ginny. It's their issues though, not Harry's. All I ever wanted for canon Harry was for him to be happy, and Ginny makes him happy, so it's a done deal. Thanks for mentioning Arthur's line about baby birthing machines. That gave me a chuckle as I was writing it picturing the looks on both his and Hermione's faces. I do love Arthur so!
  Quote
Arnel
Friday 1st June 2018 14:55


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 676

22: Memorial
If I have to choose whose speech I like most, I think it's Harry's, mostly because of how honest he was about the aftermath most of the combatants suffer. And he's correct in reminding everyone that the biggest help to those who are having difficulties is to just be there, in whatever capacity you can. I love his remark to Ginny at the part when he says she gives him the strength to go forward.

I still say the memorial reminds me of the Fountain of Magical Brethren that Bellatrix and Dumbledore destroyed at the Ministry. I just hope the house-elf and the goblin have soppy, adoring faces up-turned towards the witch and wizard...not sure whether the centaur and merperson would look that way: I think you're trying for equality between the races and I'm hoping all six are looking outward rather than toward just the witch and wizard. Most of all, I like the changes Harry and George made to the names of their loved ones and I'm hoping over the years that other families will personalize the names so that the memorial truly becomes a reflection of those who gave their lives for the cause of freedom from Voldemort's tyranny. Oh, by the way, you put up a good argument for why Vincent Crabbe's name belongs on the memorial; I hope it will make an impact on Draco's attitude and outlook on life!

Finally, the discussion of what the future holds for all the girls in Ginny's dorm showed that without the sacrifices of others, none of them would have the opportunity to live in a free world and to make the choices they have about their lives. I'm glad Hermione has been assimilated into the group and that everyone in the room is happy for her: that was one of the things I think she worried about back in September. I also hope that Parvati had the chance to speak with George about starting a business in Diagon Alley. Maybe she and Padma can have their shop and their parents' arranged marriages, too.

Well done!
Melindaleo
Tuesday 5th June 2018 08:04
22: Memorial (Author Response)
Thanks so much, Arnel! I think Harry has slowly made this discovery himself, so it just seems like him to want to help others struggling the same way he is. I thought so, anyway. You're right that the Fountain of Magical Brethren was an inspiration, but more as allies than subjects. The Battle was awful, but hopefully some good can come from it all.
  Quote
Arnel
Thursday 24th May 2018 23:23


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 676

21: Tension and Bonds
I see Ginny has ticked another item off her list: confronting Moaning Myrtle's bathroom. It's a good way to end her Hogwarts career, especially with Hermione's support. Thanks for also letting us know that Willow will be joining Ginny at training camp after school ends.

You definitely know how to keep your readers in suspense. Harry's experiences with the giants will definitely make good stories someday, but for now, I think he's grateful to Ron for his constant need to keep a head count! I had to laugh at the end when all the Weasley brothers looked to Harry to put in the last little nudge to get Arthur to join the after party at the Leaky Cauldron. It's just another sign that Harry is already recognized as an honorary Weasley! Well done!
Melindaleo
Thursday 31st May 2018 08:03
21: Tension and Bonds (Author Response)
Thanks so much for all your encouragement through this story, Arnel! You know I love the Weasleys, and I think becoming one of them is a perfect reward for Harry!
  Quote

Thursday 24th May 2018 22:19


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 66

21: Tension and Bonds
Well, you sure managed to cram a wide variety of exciting and interesting scenes in this chapter! I love how well you handle more subtle or nuanced moments — such as in the opening scene with Ginny — and exciting, emotional powerhouse events — as in the giant battle. Harry's panicked search for Hagrid and Hagrid's emotional reaction afterwards were very striking. Kudos, and thank you!
Melindaleo
Thursday 31st May 2018 08:02
21: Tension and Bonds (Author Response)
Thanks! I think Hagrid's impact on Harry's life often gets overlooked, so I thought he deserved some attention!
  Quote

Sunday 20th May 2018 10:16


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 526

20: Growing Pains
Another chapter for Phoenix Song. Good.
Melindaleo
Tuesday 22nd May 2018 14:59
20: Growing Pains (Author Response)
Thanks for the boost!
  Quote

Friday 18th May 2018 20:39


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 66

20: Growing Pains
It feels like your story is heading down the home stretch. However, I've been thinking, and I've decided that's unacceptable. You're just going to have to continue thus forever. I'm having too much fun for this to ever end.
Melindaleo
Tuesday 22nd May 2018 14:59
20: Growing Pains (Author Response)
LOL - thanks! I'm always eager to finish writing, but then I'm sorry when its done! You are right about the end drawing near. There will be 24 chapters in all.
  Quote
Arnel
Friday 18th May 2018 18:33


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 676

20: Growing Pains
I've forgotten... does Ginny's new friend, Willow, get a contract from the Harpies like Ginny does? I hope this question is answered in a future chapter.
Melindaleo
Tuesday 22nd May 2018 14:56
20: Growing Pains (Author Response)
Thanks for the remind! I've just fixed it so you'll know!
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 64 Previous - 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 Next
Latest Stories
Friday 13th September
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 14th June
Author: Melindaleo
Story: Some Cuts Leave Scars
Author: angelmorph
Story: A Different Boy Who Lived
Thursday 5th April
Author: Arnel
Story: Escape from Brextwistle Hall
Thursday 4th January
Author: Sherylyn
Story: Hearts Afire
Saturday 14th January
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Friday 9th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: Rufus Scrimgeour’s Annual Christmas Party
Friday 25th November
Author: Author by Night
Story: Full Circle
Saturday 15th October
Author: Author by Night
Story: It Opens
Wednesday 24th August
Author: Sovran
Story: Meaning of One, Part Two: Chambers and Secrets
Author: Author by Night
Story: This is the Life
Wednesday 27th April
Author: Author by Night
Story: I Solemnly Swear That I Am Up to No Good
Monday 7th March
Author: Author by Night
Story: Outside the Bubble
Friday 12th February
Author: parakletos
Story: Tiger Stripes
Wednesday 13th January
Author: Melindaleo
Story: These Cuts I Have
Tuesday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: Beholders
More
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate