Register | Login
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Some Cuts Leave Scars by Melindaleo

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 21 to 40 of 64 - Previous - 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 Next
Arnel
Friday 18th May 2018 18:31


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 676

19: Protection and Prospects
This is a stellar chapter! The Harry section is spot on for how I think a first meeting with Dudley would go, especially since Harry's going to Dudley's turf rather than the other way round. I had to smile when Ron and George came to Harry's "rescue" and ended up being jealous of Dudley's mate when the subject just happened to be Angelina!

You did a spectacular job imagining what went on in the Quidditch trials. I felt as if I were experiencing them along with Ginny. I'm glad she made a friend and hope both girls get contracts from the Harpies. Well done.
  Quote
Arnel
Friday 18th May 2018 18:03


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 676

20: Growing Pains
I love how Harry gently guides Ginny into remembering that she promised her parents that she would return to Hogwarts and take her N.E.W.T.s. He doesn't lecture, but he certainly leads her thinking so that she feels like it's herself who finally remembers her promise rather than getting a Hermione-like lecture. That gentle persuasion will probably be a concept he can use against future suspects in the interrogation room.

It's also great that Harry finally discovers that he has finally made the home he's longed for all his life and feels complete. Well done.
Melindaleo
Tuesday 22nd May 2018 14:58
20: Growing Pains (Author Response)
I think learning how to navigate each other's tempers is a skill both Harry and Ginny will need to learn, lol. Our heroes are hot headed!
  Quote
Arnel
Thursday 3rd May 2018 23:50


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 676

18: Progress and Pain
I'm so glad Ron is all right! I'm also proud of Harry for following Owen's directions and not just rushing into the mass of Dementors willy-nilly without a plan. By working with everyone, both Ron and Harry are safe and Mrs Weasley's greatest fear has not become a reality like it did in OotP. You made me smile with Harry's comment about the healers all wanting to keep the Aurors on potions until they were done dealing with the Dementors.

George's birthday party was definitely a strained occasion, with too many reminders that Fred is no longer. Harry's "saving people thing" actually did come in handy when he suggested George needed to throw something. Ginny's implied smirk when she thought of the new family tradition also made me smile. Well done.
  Quote

Thursday 3rd May 2018 22:00


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 66

18: Progress and Pain
This was simply inspired. I adore how you draw on Harry's most anguished moments to show how uniquely suited he is, like tempered steel, to rescue both Ron and George in this chapter. Well done!
  Quote

Thursday 3rd May 2018 18:16


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 31

18: Progress and Pain
Wonderful chapter and the bit with the gnomes was inspired. It's right on so many levels. It's even right on a psychological level. Kudos to you
Melindaleo
Tuesday 22nd May 2018 15:00
18: Progress and Pain (Author Response)
Thanks very much! I'm glad you enjoyed it!
  Quote

Thursday 3rd May 2018 18:15


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 31

18: Progress and Pain
Wonderful chapter and the bit with the gnomes was inspired. It's right on so many levels. It's even right on a psychological level. Kudos to you
  Quote
Arnel
Monday 30th April 2018 09:37


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 676

17: Scores and Scandals
It makes me so mad that Arthur and Molly don't really listen to Ginny when she's telling them that she plans to try out and sit her NEWTs. It's like they are hearing only what they want to hear instead of listening to everything she's telling them. I mean, she tells them plainly that she knows her Quidditch career won't last more than a few years and that she knows she needs to be fully qualified to take another job after it ends. If that isn't thinking things through, I don't know what is! Thank goodness for Bill and George's support. I have a feeling Percy's in for an earful if Ginny ever gets him alone! The rat!

You write Rita Skeeter's articles so well, they make my blood boil! It's so easy to understand why Harry does what he does in this chapter, even though people are now starting to think that Rita's articles are "real" news rather than hearsay, conjecture or just plain made up. While your solution to the problem isn't as good as the one Brennus came up with (swatting a green beetle to death and throwing it in the trash bin only to discover the next morning that the beetle is now a dead reporter), she certainly is getting her just desserts.

Finally, only you can leave your readers gasping along with Harry while leaving Ron in a horrible situation. Do I sense Harry to the rescue?
  Quote

Thursday 26th April 2018 21:44


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 66

17: Scores and Scandals
I kind of love you for never misusing "nonplussed." But then you leave us with cliffhangers that make me want to kick you just as much as Ginny likely wanted to kick Percy during that family Intervention.

I'm also concerned that Rita is going to press charges on Hermione for blackmail. However, seeing as that blackmail led to further fame and fortune (when Rita republished that Quibbler article in the Prophet), and Hermione was a minor, maybe such an accusation won't she worth pursuing..?
Melindaleo
Friday 27th April 2018 16:19
17: Scores and Scandals (Author Response)
Sorry for the cliffie - but I have noticed it tends to prompt people to review, lol. My bad! I promise an update for next week, and you'll hear more about Rita.
  Quote
Arnel
Thursday 19th April 2018 16:18


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 676

16: Past, Present and Future
I get such a fuzzy, warm feeling when you write multiple Weasleys into a scene. I particularly like the Three Broomsticks scene in this chapter because you included Percy in it and had him giving back as much as his brothers doled out. Your clueless Ron had me grinning from ear to ear, especially when Harry commented that pretending nothing had happened on the sofa. I think a good time was had by all at the Three Broomsticks, especially since Ginny received the support from her brothers she needs to try out for professional Quidditch.

The motorbike seems to be a good distraction from his thoughts of Ginny for Harry. It definitely has a history with him and I like the fact that he wants to preserve the connection he has with it to his past. The fact that George and Ken Towler have agreed to help him restore it made me smile, even if Harry felt obligated to tell Ken some things he'd rather keep secret. As for how he felt afterwards, I can understand his need to talk to Ginny. I'm glad they have the mirrors.

  Quote

Thursday 19th April 2018 00:01


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 66

16: Past, Present and Future
It's murder sometimes to wait between updates, because you leave me so emotionally invested in your characters. ;-) I swear I could feel Harry's vivid emotions and their physiological manifestations as clearly as if they were my own symptoms. Nicely written, you chapter-hogging jerk.


All my lolz emojis are malfunctioning! How else will you know I'm teasing??
  Quote

Wednesday 18th April 2018 23:57


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 66

16: Past, Present and Future
It's murder sometimes to wait between updates, because you leave me so emotionally invested in your characters. ;-) I swear I could feel Harry's vivid emotions and their physiological manifestations as clearly as if they were my own symptoms. Nicely written, you chapter-hogging jerk.
  Quote
Arnel
Friday 13th April 2018 17:23


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 676

15: Catching Up and Moving On
One of the things I like about your stories is that the characters grow. You made me smile twice in this chapter. The first came when Ginny realizes that she didn't need to prove anything to Draco or any other Slytherin and that she could take care of herself when necessary... a very empowering feeling, I think. I smile, too, when Harry is determined to help Theo and the others who are being attacked just because of their ties to the Death Eaters. I'm not sure that a year ago he would have accepted that idea, even with his sense of justice.

The one character I felt sorry for was Amos Diggory. It seems that he had all his hopes pinned on Cedric and when he was killed it took the wind out of Amos' sails. It makes me wonder if he's just barely hanging onto his job.

Nicely done.
Melindaleo
Tuesday 17th April 2018 08:53
15: Catching Up and Moving On (Author Response)
Thanks, Arnel! I think the hardest part of writing a post-Hogwarts story is keeping the characters true to themselves, but also letting them mature as they would naturally. I still prefer reading post-OotP stories best, but I've enjoyed writing this one.
  Quote

Friday 13th April 2018 05:43


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 66

15: Catching Up and Moving On
This week I've been doing a re-re-read of this story and its prequel, as I continue to love all you write for this 'verse. I'm dreadfully impatient, too, lol, in spite of your regular frequency in updating each week, can you tell?

This chapter reminds me of everything I disliked about Amos in GoF and Cursed Child. I've always wanted to smack Amos Diggory with a taste of his own medicine, such as a series of articles by Rita Skeeter about Diggory's dangerous dark leanings in wanting to spend so much time studying the Dementors, and his advocacy on their behalf. I'm petty enough to admit to wishing for a touch of schadenfreude here.

I'm a bit nervous, BTW, by Rita's lack of gossip updates, as noted in this chapter. In Rita's case, any silences are more likely to mean she's up to no good, rather than being an indication that she got trampled by New Year's Eve revellers. (Alas!)
Melindaleo
Tuesday 17th April 2018 08:51
15: Catching Up and Moving On (Author Response)
Thanks very much, and I'm glad you're enjoying it. Despite the wonderful movie portrayal, canon Amos always rubbed me the wrong way, and I thought I'd like to play with what he became in Cursed Child, so... this is where it went.
  Quote
Arnel
Friday 6th April 2018 14:03


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 676

14: Auld Lang Syne
I find it incredibly funny that Harry is more afraid of George and his needling than he ever seemed of Voldemort! It's probably the unspoken threat of George dropping a hint to Molly that something's going on between Harry and Ginny and the fact that Harry knows George would actually be "evil" enough to actually do it!

I love this chapter for several reasons. The first is that what started out as Ginny's attempt to prove to Draco that she and Harry are truly together turns out to be an extension of friendship to Astoria and therefore, Draco. The second reason is that Ginny's invitation forced a difficult conversation to take place between the friends and that they acted like adults rather than school children five years younger. Finally, The party gives Harry the opportunity to observe how his friends are coping with the aftermath of the war: the gaps in circles, those who avoid uncomfortable subjects or people, or the intense need for close physical contact. I'm glad that Draco seems to be coping with the house full of Gryffindors well enough to stay until midnight after Harry promised to look into the attack on Nott. Like Harry says, it's going to take a while for attitudes to change and it seems that his guests are taking their cues from him as to whether or not to accept the Slytherins. I'm sure he's grateful to Lisa for breaking the social ice and coming to talk with Astoria.

All in all, this is one of my favorite chapters. Well done!
  Quote
Arnel
Saturday 31st March 2018 00:24


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 676

13: Cars and Couches Be Damned
I love how the romance in this chapter is tinged with a bit of rebellion on Ginny's part! Fred and George taught their sister well when it comes to hoodwinking their mother. Luna seems to enjoy being Ginny's excuse for sneaking away for a special night with Harry.

You made me laugh at Harry's reaction to Ginny appearing in his doorway, all prepped and ready for a night of debauchery. The fact that he needed the liquid courage Ginny provided to get in the mood, i.e. over his nerves, shows how much he wants their first time to be something memorable as well as romantic. He definitely continues the romantic gestures in Dean's presence, as though he is silently declaring that Ginny is his , even though the non-verbal hints are necessary--Dean certainly gets the message to stay away from Harry's girl! I'm looking forward to reading the description of Dean's mural in the next chapter.
Melindaleo
Wednesday 4th April 2018 09:42
13: Cars and Couches Be Damned (Author Response)
Thanks, Arnel!! I put off writing this chapter for so long because, quite honestly, it intimidated me. I'm really glad it played well. I definitely know not to enter a smut-writing competition! I'm glad you enjoyed the two rutting stags at the end there. I enjoyed picturing that scene.
  Quote
Felix Felicis
Tuesday 27th March 2018 20:15


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 217

12: Good Tidings of Comfort and Joy
I actually laughed out loud at the end of this chapter and my wife asked me what was so funny! Another wonderful chapter, so many ups and downs and so much family time. Thanks for giving us this.
  Quote
Arnel
Friday 23rd March 2018 01:48


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 676

12: Good Tidings of Comfort and Joy
This is one of my favorite chapters in the story, mostly because the Weasley family rallies around each of the members and helps each other through the difficulties of the first Christmas without loved ones. I love the scene between Ginny, Charlie and George as they try to hide George's inebriation from Mrs. Weasley. And then, when Harry's crisis surfaces, they all drop what they're doing to make sure he'll be all right. No matter what Arthur thinks, Rita did deserve Ginny's Bat Bogey Hex! You had me smirking again with Harry high on pain potions. It's good that this story is back in pattern with Harry sustaining severe injuries for one reason or another!

You do Stubborn!Harry exceptionally well. How nobody heard him coming down the stairs on Christmas morning is beyond me, especially with all the purposely noisy stairs Molly and Arthur installed on their staircase! Harry did the right thing letting Molly and Andromeda mother him. I think it helped both women with the sadness they were feeling that morning. Finally, the other thing you do exceptionally well is embarrassing Harry. You ended the chapter with a smirk because I can easily picture George's delight in having someone new to torment! The innuendos had me laughing so hard my sides hurt. Well done!
Melindaleo
Friday 23rd March 2018 09:06
12: Good Tidings of Comfort and Joy (Author Response)
Thanks, Arnel! I love the Weasleys as much as you do! I think this first Christmas had to be hard, but there's always a few lighter moments that can be worked it, particularly with a family as loving as the Weasleys.
  Quote

Thursday 22nd March 2018 19:40


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 31

12: Good Tidings of Comfort and Joy
I loved the Jhonny scene. I can just see a joker like George trying such a joke. The mere thought of what Mr Weasley would think if he really understood is very funny. Keep on going!
Melindaleo
Friday 23rd March 2018 09:04
12: Good Tidings of Comfort and Joy (Author Response)
Thanks! I debated if Mr. Weasley would know or not, but I wanted a lighter end to this heavy chapter. It was fun imagining it happening.
  Quote
Felix Felicis
Saturday 17th March 2018 18:43


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 217

11: Reunions Redux
What another great chapter! Sorry I haven't been leaving reviews on each chapter - most of my reading time is on my phone, but tonight I'm on my computer so can tell you how much I'm loving this story!

I've always enjoyed scenes where the four are together just being themselves. You put that together so well at the beginning of this chapter. In fact, I'd use the work 'real' to describe this whole chapter. It just felt so real, so very like the characters, in voice and tone. The interaction of Ginny and her brother was so well done. It felt like the first time she'd really got to talk to him as an adult.

Oh the pain of the dementors. It reminds me of After the End and the seemingly never-ending battle to get rid of the dementors. I'm really eager to see how you handle it in this story!

Thanks for sharing this gift with us. I continue to look forward to the postings every Wednesday!

-Felix
Melindaleo
Sunday 18th March 2018 14:08
11: Reunions Redux (Author Response)
Hello! It's so wonderful to see your name here again! Now I know I'll have to leave horrible cliffies to draw you out! I'm honored you compare it to After the End - I love that story. I've tried to be very conscious of not making anything too similar.

If you like the four together, I think you'll enjoy some of the interactions coming up. Weekly updates for this one - so I hope to see you again.
  Quote

Saturday 17th March 2018 17:50


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 34

11: Reunions Redux
Hello!

Long time, no review huh?! Well here I am.

I’ve come away from reading (and writing) fan fiction for a long time! So much so my email associated with fan fiction accounts was forgotten. I recently thought I better check the email account and found the email notifiying me you had written this.

Boy am I glad I checked that inbox!! I have loved every second. I read this all tonight and enjoyed every second of it. Brilliant work as always... good character development, especially Ginny. And as always, your humour shines through which I always love about your work. Can’t wait to read more... and it’s even got me wanting to read other fanfiction in the site again so thank you for reigniting my love of fanfic!

A couple of pointers from a Brit - I wouldn’t normally expect someone to say ‘the county of Surrey’ (or any). Normally we would just say ‘it’s in surrey’ as We tend to know it’s a county and it’s just not part of our language flow to explain what type of area it is. So I’d probably have said ‘it’s a little town/village in surrey’. If that makes sense? It’s funny that even though we speak the same language American and British English does really differ.

Anyway, can’t wait for an update. Love to you!
Melindaleo
Sunday 18th March 2018 14:05
11: Reunions Redux (Author Response)
Well, as my wonderful beta, Sherilyn, once said to me - Hogwarts will always be there to welcome you home! Thanks very much for the British perspective. I love learning these tidbits, and will watch it in future. When I look back on PoE, I still cringe when I see "graduated from Hogwarts" written by me. I've learned since then, and it always rubs me the wrong way now! So, from now on, "a little village in Surrey" will be the way to go! I'm doing weekly updates, so I hope you'll continue reading!

Thanks for the very warm greeting!
  Quote
Showing 21 to 40 of 64 - Previous - 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 Next
Latest Stories
Friday 13th September
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 14th June
Author: Melindaleo
Story: Some Cuts Leave Scars
Author: angelmorph
Story: A Different Boy Who Lived
Thursday 5th April
Author: Arnel
Story: Escape from Brextwistle Hall
Thursday 4th January
Author: Sherylyn
Story: Hearts Afire
Saturday 14th January
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Friday 9th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: Rufus Scrimgeours Annual Christmas Party
Friday 25th November
Author: Author by Night
Story: Full Circle
Saturday 15th October
Author: Author by Night
Story: It Opens
Wednesday 24th August
Author: Sovran
Story: Meaning of One, Part Two: Chambers and Secrets
Author: Author by Night
Story: This is the Life
Wednesday 27th April
Author: Author by Night
Story: I Solemnly Swear That I Am Up to No Good
Monday 7th March
Author: Author by Night
Story: Outside the Bubble
Friday 12th February
Author: parakletos
Story: Tiger Stripes
Wednesday 13th January
Author: Melindaleo
Story: These Cuts I Have
Tuesday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: Beholders
More
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate