Register | Login
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Some Cuts Leave Scars by Melindaleo

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 41 to 60 of 64 - Previous - 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 Next
critmo
Friday 16th March 2018 13:23


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 692

11: Reunions Redux
Sorry, but I think Harry is not really in character here. So far, it has been one of his prominent characteristics to be quick on his feet.

Entangling himself so much as to ruin the whole show, simply does not look like himself.
Melindaleo
Friday 16th March 2018 16:33
11: Reunions Redux (Author Response)
Do you think so? I agree that Harry is quick on his feet, but he does make mistakes, and I tried to hint at this earlier when he ended up at the Burrow by not concentrating enough. Shrugs. I think it could happen.
  Quote
Arnel
Thursday 15th March 2018 08:28


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 676

11: Reunions Redux
You certainly delight in dangling your readers over the edge of a very precipitous cliff! Poor Harry! Splinched! ARGH! You're back to your nasty tricks of causing Harry harm when he doesn't need to be beaten up any further! That said, I think he actually did it to himself this time, having worked the double shift. Moreover, you've cemented my loathing of Cormac McLaggan even further than it was at the end of HBP by having that character leave Harry to do the job alone that they were both supposed to do. I'm glad Owen tried to talk some sense into Harry, even if the poor lad was so wrung out that his superior's lecture wasn't making much sense.

I absolutely love the opening scene of this chapter. You've given your readers a glimpse of what the Potter household might look like in the future with Harry happily cooking and Ginny keeping him company while he works. The banter between Ron and Hermione made me smile, even if Hermione kept prodding Harry to talk about his past. It was nice that she insisted on cleaning up after dinner.

Finally, I think Ginny is correct that Christmas will be the hard holiday for Arthur and Molly while the first birthday will be worse for George. I'm glad Charlie made it home so that Ginny didn't have to face the empty, non-decorated house by herself.

All in all, well done.
  Quote
critmo
Saturday 10th March 2018 12:53


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 692

10: Parties and Partings
"Ghosts of the Past" would have been a good title for this chapter.

I think you really got down Malfoy nicely. (I wrote "Draco" first, but could not bring mayself to call him that - I'm not a fan either,)
Melindaleo
Monday 12th March 2018 16:32
10: Parties and Partings (Author Response)
LOL - I've reviewed stories where I've done that, too! He's such a brat! I did have fun including him in this chapter, though.
  Quote
Arnel
Friday 9th March 2018 02:17


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 676

10: Parties and Partings
I read this chapter before bed with tea mug in hand and a small plate of biscuits for dunking. It was the perfect way to end the day...

As always, I come away from this chapter with an appreciation for every character in the chapter. While it was fun to experience Ginny's puzzlement and surprise over Harry coming to the party, it was more enlightening to get to know a little more about Astoria and Draco. I admire Astoria for her calm demeanor during the exchange at the table during the party. While Draco easily bristled because of some of the comments Ron made, she was able to help him not make a scene when one was certain to unfold. Also, some of the things she's said in other chapters show how mature and patient she can be, probably one of the reasons she was chosen as Head Girl.

I've always found resentful, bitter characters hard to write and the fact that you are able to let Draco's character take charge and seemingly write his part of the chapter for you is something I admire. I found it nice that Draco was able to momentarily drop his affected attitude and actually sound genuine when he asked Harry about the investigation. I'm hoping that Harry will act on the little piece of information about Agnes's brother in future chapters. He may be a person of interest the Aurors already know about, but having a civilian calmly volunteer information could corroborate something the Aurors were questioning. Well done!

I'm looking forward to the next chapter.
Melindaleo
Monday 12th March 2018 16:31
10: Parties and Partings (Author Response)
Reading in bed with tea and biscuits sounds lovely! We have yet another storm hitting tonight, so that just might be all day tomorrow! While I freely admit that I don't like Draco, I was intrigued by his character in Cursed Child. He grew up a lot, and from various things I've heard, I credit Astoria with that. It was fun exploring it a little, although I know I'd never have the patience to write an entire fic with them.

As always - thanks so much for all your time, effort and continued feedback. I really appreciate it.
  Quote
Arnel
Saturday 3rd March 2018 01:34


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 676

9: Sneezes and Snuggles
You write stubborn Ministry dude quite well. I had to chuckle over the argument between Owen and the DRCMC worker. It was very easy to picture the exchange in my head and I enjoyed seeing Owen send the bloke packing.

The scene with Teddy went straight to my fluffy spot. When Harry and Ginny eventually become parents, he's going to so good at being a father, mostly because he knows how precious the time with his children really is. Besides, I have a feeling he is going to use Vernon as a role model he does NOT want to emulate.

Ginny's reflections on what's going on with Dean are probably quite accurate. He probably feels he's the odd man out and by being a bit affectionate with Ginny he just might be trying to recreate the time he thinks he had with her two years ago. And speaking of people we love to hate, you write spiteful Brynn very well: I can't stand how she treats Luna and then Ginny after Luna leaves. Brynn deserved the Stinging Hex Ginny sent her way, despite what Hermione says!

All in all, well done.
  Quote
critmo
Sunday 25th February 2018 12:18


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 692

8: Witches and Bitches
Nice take ways to deal with the memories.

I also like your take on those who profit, but do not acknowledgeas much. Quite realistic, I'm afraid.
  Quote
Arnel
Thursday 22nd February 2018 18:18


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 676

8: Witches and Bitches
I think this is one of my favorite chapters in this entire story, mostly because of the Room of Requirement scene. While the other girls did put Hermione on the spot about her travels with harry and Ron, the questions and curiosity should have showed her that she is an accepted part of the seventh year group of girls. I think that would be a big deal for Hermione who spent her first six years not feeling particularly accepted by her dorm mates.

And speaking about acceptance, you are so right about The Burrow being the place Harry needs to be to find the acceptance and understanding he can't seem to find out in the world because of people like Rita Skeeter and Terra Munch (Rita's protégé?). Arthur is right in that people like them live to stir up trouble with few facts and a whole lot to speculation. As Harry wished, it would have been so nice to have James and Lily be the ones to whom Harry could turn, but there never were better substitutes for the parental roles he needs than Arthur and Molly. I smiled at Harry's thought that family does chores while guests sit at the table and Molly's greeting and willingness to hold Harry until he was ready to stand on his own went straight to my fluffy spot! With those two behind him, Harry can take on the world!

Well done!
Melindaleo
Friday 23rd February 2018 12:33
8: Witches and Bitches (Author Response)
Thanks, Arnel! This is one of my favorite scenes, too. I had so much fun writing it. You know I'm a big Molly and Arthur fan, and while I used them more in Cuts, I wanted a scene showing Harry could still go to them when he needed them - even if he didn't consciously realize that he did!
  Quote
Arnel
Thursday 15th February 2018 02:52


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 676

7: Daring Nerve
I love "Captain Ginny." She cares so much for her team, especially the newest member. It's the mark of a good leader that she can empathize with Wendy's predicament and know how to help her feel good about the up-coming match and then her performance in it.

The match itself was quite exciting. The action was easy to picture and it didn't feel like a list of things that happened one after another: instead, one play flowed into the next, making the action very real.

The new subplot is intriguing. I know you're inventing all sorts of Auror procedures, but they really sound official. Besides, Harry and Owen seem to work especially well together, no matter whether they are herding Dementors or investigating a crime. This investigation seems to be a nice change for Harry.

As always, Harry's conversation with Ginny over the mirrors was soothing not only to Harry but to this reader, too. I think he'll get a very good night's sleep now that she has boosted his confidence in their relationship again. Well done.
Melindaleo
Thursday 15th February 2018 10:50
7: Daring Nerve (Author Response)
Thanks, Arnel! Your reviews are always so detailed and soothing - they make me want to write more! I know there are a lot of fans who believe Harry shouldn't have become an Auror, but I'm not one of them. I think it's the perfect career for him. I think he'd go out of his mind doing anything else. I also think Ginny is a strong enough witch to handle her final year of school without him there.
  Quote
Arnel
Friday 9th February 2018 01:24


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 676

6: Recovery and Reversals
I'm sure Harry appreciates not having to cope with the madness at St. Mungo's when he's recuperating from a work-induced injury. It's good, too, that he and Duncan are safe, even if they're not "fine." I also like that Harry and Ginny are to the point in their relationship where they automatically turn to each other for comfort. While he has had that with Ron and Hermione to some extent since he met them, what he has with Ginny is far stronger. Now all he has to do is get his mind out of the gutter when she mentions tiny black knickers!

Ginny makes a good point when she empathizes with Tim Travers. You don't have to like someone to compare their situation with your own. I think Astoria sees this in Ginny's actions, so that's why she opens up to Ginny about the situation outside Hogwarts. I wonder if Astoria heard what Siobhan said about her brother…

Overall, another excellent chapter. Well done.
Melindaleo
Saturday 10th February 2018 14:45
6: Recovery and Reversals (Author Response)
LOL - Harry is 18 years old. His mind lives in the gutter I think as our characters grow and mature, it's only natural they'd turn to their partners first, and both couples are on the way to getting there. Thanks for taking the time to review, Arnel!
  Quote
Arnel
Friday 2nd February 2018 14:26


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 676

5: Reunions and Reactions
I have loved your Ginny from the very beginning. She's spunky, fun and so self-assured. She cares deeply for those she loves and this trait comes out in so many ways in this chapter. I love how concerned she is for Ron as he tells her about what he hears when herding the Dementors, how she agrees to walk with Siobhan to Hogsmeade so the other witch doesn't have to walk with a boy she doesn't like, and how she shows her love to Harry in every touch, kiss and cuddle. What made me smile the most was her love of butterbeer foam.

Harry's Dementor scene at the end is truly chilling and while I know what happens to Harry and Duncan in the next chapter, I was still on the edge of my seat willing Harry to stay conscious so he could protect the other Auror. Well done!
Melindaleo
Friday 2nd February 2018 20:24
5: Reunions and Reactions (Author Response)
You're the best, Arnel! Not only did you read this over and offer great advice, but you still leave awesome, detailed reviews. I really appreciate all your effort! Thank you for taking the time to do it!
  Quote

Thursday 1st February 2018 20:07


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 526

5: Reunions and Reactions
Not a lot of reviews on here, so well done on this site.
Melindaleo
Friday 2nd February 2018 09:56
5: Reunions and Reactions (Author Response)
Thanks so much! That's really nice of you. I love this site, but I think a lot of the fanfic these days seems to be centered around Draco Malfoy. I'm still a fan of our canon couples!
  Quote
Arnel
Thursday 25th January 2018 13:37


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 676

4: Revelations and Frustrations
Another brilliant chapter! If I had to choose my favorite parts, they're the heart-to-heart talks between Ginny and Hermione and George and Harry. You write such poignant, heart-felt scenes that draw the reader in and makes the situation and characters so real. The reader also knows that by the end of the conversation, one or both of the participants is going to feel much better than when they started talking.

I'd forgotten that this was the chapter in which Harry decides he likes Owen. It's nice to know that he feels he can learn more from Owen than from Dawlish. Having a good mentor is important. Well done.
Melindaleo
Friday 26th January 2018 08:43
4: Revelations and Frustrations (Author Response)
Thanks, Arnel! I ended up liking Owen very much as I wrote him, so Harry's growing fondness perhaps mirrored my own, lol.
  Quote

Wednesday 24th January 2018 18:42


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 31

4: Revelations and Frustrations
Weĺ done! Exciting but not too unrealistic is the way to go. I really appreciate how you handle the emotions of the veterans. The horrors of war don't just disappear when hostilities end. (for whatever reasons) We need more stories to point this out.to show that people are damaged by war , sometimes the damage is permanent.
Melindaleo
Thursday 25th January 2018 09:20
4: Revelations and Frustrations (Author Response)
Thanks! I agree with you that it isn't a switch that can simply be flipped, and although the characters are moving on, they'll all have some slips. I hope you enjoy.
  Quote

Tuesday 23rd January 2018 00:15


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 66

3: Bitterness of the Past
I've had so much fun reading this fic and its prequel this weekend. It thrills my heart to see you writing again! I posted a rec over on my blog, Gioia Recs in which I babbled gleefully.

Thank you for your hard work! Thank you to your alphas and beta, too! Excellent work from all of you
Melindaleo
Tuesday 23rd January 2018 09:27
3: Bitterness of the Past (Author Response)
Wow! Thanks so much for the plugs! I'll freely admit I have no idea how to use a blog, or even where you'd find one! My kids roll their eyes at me!
  Quote
critmo
Monday 22nd January 2018 13:06


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 692

3: Bitterness of the Past
At first, I wasn't really sure what to make of this, but I'm beginning to like it.

I particularly enjoy your insight into that last year at Hogwarts. We know it cannot have been a piece of cake, but from the trio's perspective it does come across as less terrible, of course. But that is probably rubbish. Thanks for making me see the ... darkness.
Melindaleo
Monday 22nd January 2018 19:34
3: Bitterness of the Past (Author Response)
Well, I'm glad it's growing on you, and I really appreciate that you stuck with it! I've seen so many post Battle stories that make Hogwarts either something out of a horror movie to just a typical year. I think the trio's view is a bit rose-colored, but I've also seen stories where there was rape and murder happening at every turn. That never sits right with me, either. I hope you'll continue to enjoy.
  Quote
critmo
Monday 22nd January 2018 13:06


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 692

3: Bitterness of the Past
At first, I wasn't really sure what to make of this, but I'm beginning to like it.

I particularly enjoy your insight into that last year at Hogwarts. We know it cannot have been a piece of cake, but from the trio's perspective it does come across as less terrible, of course. But that is probably rubbish. Thanks for making me see the ... darkness.
  Quote
Arnel
Sunday 21st January 2018 03:08


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 676

3: Bitterness of the Past
I love the Ginny section for two reasons. First, you're giving us a glimpse of what might have happened the previous year and why the seventh years are having a hard time with their new History teacher and his reasons for having them do an essay on the Unforgiveables. It's also good for Hermione to hear first hand about what others went through during the year she wasn't at Hogwarts. Second, it's really clever of you to include Hermione and her spreadsheet in Ginny's tryouts decision. You're helping her become involved with more than just her roommates, which, in turn, will help keep her from isolating herself. I think she needs that interaction to help her not be acutely aware of Ron and Harry's absence from the school.

You do George Weasley to perfection and it makes me wonder which one of your sons you're patterning him after! He knows just how to get under Harry's skin and really take the mickey. I'm glad, though, that he offered to help him with his potions. It makes me wonder how Fred and George decided who would get which OWLs because it seems they divvied up the subjects so that neither would be duplicating a subject the other was preparing to ace. Oh, it made me smile that Harry was hiding not only from his adoring fans, but Owen Savage, too! Well done!
Melindaleo
Monday 22nd January 2018 19:31
3: Bitterness of the Past (Author Response)
I don't know what just happened! I typed out a whole response, and it only printed the first line! I think it was because I tried to put a heart in there and it didn't like it!

Anyway, I think I model the brother interaction and their inclusion of Harry into it after observing my boys as a whole. They're so funny, and when they have friends in the car, they always seem to think there is one of those limo window things and I can't hear anything they're saying!

As for the twins OWL results - I think you're exactly right! Why waste energy when they could divide and conquer? Such a fun thought - you should write about that!!
  Quote

Wednesday 17th January 2018 20:36


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 20

3: Bitterness of the Past
Thanks for sharing! The story is great so far - I'm looking forward to reading more!
Melindaleo
Thursday 18th January 2018 08:44
3: Bitterness of the Past (Author Response)
Thanks! The chapters get longer as the story goes on.
  Quote
Felix Felicis
Thursday 11th January 2018 21:43


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 217

1: Hurts to Say Goodbye
Ah, so happy to see a new story from you! I'm really looking forward to this. Come to think of it, I've only read maybe one or two others about the "year after."

It feels comfortable getting back into things, the way you started. Looks to be a great story!
  Quote

Thursday 11th January 2018 11:32


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

2: Ghosts and Phantoms
Thank you for still writing. Its nice to read stories from you again.
Melindaleo
Friday 12th January 2018 08:51
2: Ghosts and Phantoms (Author Response)
Thanks very much! It's nice to be writing them again.
  Quote
Showing 41 to 60 of 64 - Previous - 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 Next
Latest Stories
Friday 13th September
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 14th June
Author: Melindaleo
Story: Some Cuts Leave Scars
Author: angelmorph
Story: A Different Boy Who Lived
Thursday 5th April
Author: Arnel
Story: Escape from Brextwistle Hall
Thursday 4th January
Author: Sherylyn
Story: Hearts Afire
Saturday 14th January
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Friday 9th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: Rufus Scrimgeours Annual Christmas Party
Friday 25th November
Author: Author by Night
Story: Full Circle
Saturday 15th October
Author: Author by Night
Story: It Opens
Wednesday 24th August
Author: Sovran
Story: Meaning of One, Part Two: Chambers and Secrets
Author: Author by Night
Story: This is the Life
Wednesday 27th April
Author: Author by Night
Story: I Solemnly Swear That I Am Up to No Good
Monday 7th March
Author: Author by Night
Story: Outside the Bubble
Friday 12th February
Author: parakletos
Story: Tiger Stripes
Wednesday 13th January
Author: Melindaleo
Story: These Cuts I Have
Tuesday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: Beholders
More
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate